Series Review: Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Dangerous Creatures (from Goodreads):
Ridley Duchannes will be the first to tell you that she’s a bad girl. She’s Dark. She’s a Siren. You can never trust her, or even yourself when she’s around. Lucky for her, Wesley “Link” Lincoln can never seem to remember that; quarter Incubus or not, his heart is Mortal when it comes to Ridley. When Link heads to New York City to start a music career, Ridley goes along for the ride-and she has her own reasons. As if leaving small-town Gatlin for the big city, trying to form a band, and surviving life with a partially reformed Siren isn’t hard enough already, Link soon learns he has a price on his head that no Caster or Mortal can ever pay.

breakdown

SERIESous’ Top Picks: Biggest Disappointment 2014 (Dangerous Creatures)
Series: Dangerous Creatures

This is a spinoff of the Beautiful Creatures Series.

Author: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
# of Books: 2 (Dangerous Creatures, Dangerous Deception)

There is a prequel novella called Dangerous Dream.

Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Magic, Supernatural, Fantasy
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: Third Person, Multiple
Publication Dates: May 2014 – May 2015
Source & Format: Public Library—eBook & Hardcover

warning
WARNING: If you have not finished the original series, Beautiful Creatures, this review may have spoilers!

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

It’s no secret that the Beautiful Creatures Series is one of my favourite young adult series I have ever had the pleasure of reading. It’s a great blend of romance, mystery, suspense and magic with superb characters and great writing. And while the movie may have flopped and failed, the book series is fantastic and is the standard I uphold all magic-based books to. So it’s no surprise that I was ecstatic to learn that there would be a spin-off series with two of my favourite characters that I was dying to see more of: Link and Ridley.

The Concept / The World:

Dangerous Creatures has an entirely different feel to it than Beautiful Creatures–which makes sense because Link and Ridley are no Ethan and Lena. It’s traded the slower, gothic feel for the upbeat, modern feel of New York–but I’m not sure how I feel about that. It definitely took some getting used to but I eventually got into the swing of things. Just don’t go in expecting a carbon copy of Beautiful Creatures when you read this book.

The Plot:

Unlike Beautiful Creatures, Dangerous Creatures lacks a mystery from the past. I suppose that there is a bit of one but I find it isn’t as powerful as it was in Beautiful Creatures. And because it isn’t as powerful, I felt like the plot was the bare minimum needed to move the novel along.

The Characters:

I kinda wanted more from Link and Ridley to be honest. Neither one grabbed my attention like they did in the previous series. I wasn’t as in love with them as I expected to be and that was a disappointment.

The Romance:

For fans of Link and Ridley, you honestly just want them to get their happy ending. So it was frustrating to watch them go back and forth for the duration of the novel.

This aspect could have used some work in my opinion. It was probably my biggest upset with this novel.

The Prequel, Dangerous Dream:

For a while I felt pretty lost while reading Dangerous Creatures and I blame myself for not reading Dangerous Dream, the prequel, before Dangerous Creatures. I felt like I was missing something the entire first half of the book.

Dangerous Dream does bridge the two series together nicely while refreshing you mind on everything that happened at the end of the previous series.

It isn’t necessary though, and honestly, it isn’t worth the $3-5 dollars you will spend on it. If you library has the digital copy, borrow it; otherwise, don’t waste your money!

updates

–November 8, 2016– Book #2: Dangerous Deception

After the disappointment that was Dangerous Creatures, I was hesitant to get into this one.

But I enjoyed this one immensely!

This story had a thrilling aspect to it that kept my attention. It moved fast and just kept building and building. Unlike the previous novel, there actually felt like there was a true plot to this story.

A great sequel (and conclusion?) to this story arc. I’m glad this one was entertaining; it was nice to return to this Caster world once again.

concSLOW

Series Rating: 3.5/5

Dangerous Creatures 3/5 | Dangerous Deception 4/5

overall

Fans of Beautiful Creatures will love that Link and Ridley finally get their own story. However, it has a completely different plot line and feel that may take some getting used to.

Read if You Like: magic based stories, good vs evil plots
Avoid if You: want more romance
similarreads

recapbutton

Connect: Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Comments 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: