Series Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for The Conspiracy of Us (from Goodreads):

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

breakdown

Series: The Conspiracy of Us Trilogy
Author: Maggie Hall
# of Books: 3 (The Conspiracy of Us, Maps of Fate, The Ends of the World)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Adventure, Contemporary, Romance
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: January 2015 -July 2017
Source & Format: Public Library–eBook (#1); Audiobook (#2 & #3)

thoughts

**This post was originally posted as a Fresh Friday review of the first book of the series. It has now been updated to include the newest publications in the series.**

Why I Picked The Conspiracy of Us Up:

What drew me to this book was the cover, but what made me want to read it was the hook that it was “perfect for fans of Ally Carter”. It’s no secret that I fall prey to these every-time; especially when they are for Ally Carter. Let me explain why: Ally Carter is one of my favourite authors because I love her strong heroines and the suspense of her novels. While Gallagher Girls started off more light-hearted and fun, it definitely became more intricate in the plot later on; whereas Heist Society always seemed more tense and serious to me right from the start. Most of the time when books say they are perfect for Ally Carter fans they are referring more to the style of Heist Society–which I liked but didn’t really love–and how it is intricate right form the get-go. Which is fine because I’m still looking for that perfect heist novel, but I can’t wait until I find a book with the same flare as the Gallagher Girls Series.

The Concept:

Regardless, The Conspiracy of Us is its own novel. The premise reminded me a bit of the slightly darker novel The Book of Blood and Shadow–a book I thought had a great premise but a poor execution.

For the most part The Conspiracy of Us had a good execution. However, it was difficult for me to get past the idea that Avery literally jumps on a plane to travel across the world with two boys she barely knows without any hesitation. I understand that this event had to happen to get the story in motion; and to a certain degree I could see why she would jump at the first chance she gets to any information about her unknown family past. But, I just wanted to see a few lines about her concerns or why it could potentially be a bad idea. It just frustrated me because, for the most part, I felt like she was a rational character with everything else that happens in the book.

The Plot:

The book is pretty slow until you get about half-way through. That’s when the clues start to come into play and the pace of the book picks up exponentially. Which is why I am giving the book a 3.5 instead of a solid 4 because that first half of the book really didn’t do much story-wise and felt a little unnecessary.

While some of the events are cliche to a mystery novel, I thought the whole prophecy/mystery bit was a lot of fun. There were a lot of little unexpected twists that accompanied it and that made me excited to continue reading. It actually reminded me a lot of a Young Adult version of Juliet by Anne Fortier in terms of its execution (though the plots are completely different!).

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

I’m looking forward to the sequel but I am not dying to pick it up.

updates

–May 9, 2018– Book #2: Map of Fates

Yikes! This book was a complete miss for me. I probably should have DNF’d it but the whole prophecy thing has got me invested (even though I knew the solution very early on). I felt like this book spend far too much time on the mundane. The constant back and forth for Avery’s love life was exhausting and not enjoyable in the slightest. I will say that there were some good twists along the way but they don’t get a ton of screen time in the long run so this made for a duller read.

At first I thought it was the fact that I was listening to the audio version and the narrator is one of my least favourite to listen to. However, I actually thought she did a great job so I can’t really complain about that aspect.

–May 23, 2018– Book #3: The Ends of the World

My reading experience here was much more positive than the previous. I thought this book started with a “bang” and had great momentum…up until the halfway point when we seem to reiterate the same romance themes again and again. By this point, I had warmed up to the romance a little more but I did find the scenes to be tiresome as they distracted from the thrilling plot line.

There were some good twists along the way and I did like how everything wrapped up so it’s a solid finale when all is said and done.

Series Rating: 3/5

The Conspiracy of Us 3.5/5 | Map of Fates 2/5 | The Ends of the World 3/5

overall

A unique premise to be sure but this series just gets too caught up in its other factors, dampening the reading experience.

Read if You Like: more romance focused, love triangles, conspiracy theories
Avoid if You: dislike slow stories, want more suspense

similarreads

readingchallenges 

recapbutton

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Comments 2

  • I have seen glowing reviews and mediocre reviews for this one, and to be honest – I think I’m going to stay away. I don’t like things happening in a book just to move the plot forward. Especially when it’s completely stupid like travelling across the world with two strangers. Seriously – THE DANGER.

    Have you read Ally Carter’s newest novel? It’s the only book of hers I have read so far, but I really liked it 😀 So I am particularly keen to grab another book of hers – especially since you like them so much!

    • Yeah, I couldn’t get over the fact she just hops on a plane with these two guys! Common sense people!

      I did read Ally’s new book and I really enjoyed it! It was more what I thought this book was going to be (obviously because it is written by Ally Carter haha. My review of that one is going to be posted soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: