Fresh Fridays: The Conspiracy of Us (#1) by Maggie Hall

Fresh Fridays: On Friday, I review a brand new series (ie. only has one book released so far) to see if the series is worth keeping up with. Here is this week’s offering:

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall | The Conspiracy of Us Trilogy

Other books in the series:

Series: The Conspiracy of Us Trilogy
Author: Maggie Hall
# of Books: 3 (The Conspiracy of Us, Maps of Fate, Book 3)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: No, Maps of Fate, will be published in March 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Adventure, Contemporary, Romance
Heat Rating: getting warm
Point of View: First Person, Single

Thoughts:

What drew me to this book was the cover, but what made me want to read it was the hook that it was “perfect for fans of Ally Carter”. It’s no secret that I fall prey to these every-time; especially when they are for Ally Carter. Let me explain why: Ally Carter is one of my favourite authors because I love her strong heroines and the suspense of her novels. While Gallagher Girls started off more light-hearted and fun, it definitely became more intricate in the plot later on; whereas Heist Society always seemed more tense and serious to me right from the start. Most of the time when books say they are perfect for Ally Carter fans they are referring more to the style of Heist Society–which I liked but didn’t really love–and how it is intricate right form the get-go. Which is fine because I’m still looking for that perfect heist novel, but I can’t wait until I find a book with the same flare as the Gallagher Girls Series.

Regardless, The Conspiracy of Us is its own novel. The premise reminded me a bit of the slightly darker novel The Book of Blood and Shadow–a book I thought had a great premise but a poor execution.

For the most part The Conspiracy of Us had a good execution. However, it was difficult for me to get past the idea that Avery literally jumps on a plane to travel across the world with two boys she barely knows without any hesitation. I understand that this event had to happen to get the story in motion; and to a certain degree I could see why she would jump at the first chance she gets to any information about her unknown family past. But, I just wanted to see a few lines about her concerns or why it could potentially be a bad idea. It just frustrated me because, for the most part, I felt like she was a rational character with everything else that happens in the book.

The book is pretty slow until you get about half-way through. That’s when the clues start to come into play and the pace of the book picks up exponentially. Which is why I am giving the book a 3.5 instead of a solid 4 because that first half of the book really didn’t do much story-wise and felt a little unnecessary.

While some of the events are cliche to a mystery novel, I thought the whole prophecy/mystery bit was a lot of fun. There were a lot of little unexpected twists that accompanied it and that made me excited to continue reading. It actually reminded me a lot of a Young Adult version of Juliet by Anne Fortier in terms of its execution (though the plots are completely different!).

I’m looking forward to the sequel but I am not dying to pick it up.

Conclusion:

I won’t lie: it’s a bit of a snoozer at the start. But once things start falling into place, the pace picks up and before you know it you get sucked into the story. A great read for those who like slower building stories and/or those who like solving ancient prophecies in a modern world.

Rating: 3.5/5
Would I Recommend this Series to a Friend: Pending sequel.

Similar Reads: The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman; A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (Firebird Trilogy #1) and Juliet by Anne Fortier

Synopsis for The Conspiracy of Us (from Goodreads):
A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

book

recapbutton

Comments 2

  • I have seen glowing reviews and mediocre reviews for this one, and to be honest – I think I’m going to stay away. I don’t like things happening in a book just to move the plot forward. Especially when it’s completely stupid like travelling across the world with two strangers. Seriously – THE DANGER.

    Have you read Ally Carter’s newest novel? It’s the only book of hers I have read so far, but I really liked it 😀 So I am particularly keen to grab another book of hers – especially since you like them so much!

    • Yeah, I couldn’t get over the fact she just hops on a plane with these two guys! Common sense people!

      I did read Ally’s new book and I really enjoyed it! It was more what I thought this book was going to be (obviously because it is written by Ally Carter haha. My review of that one is going to be posted soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: