Year archives: 2018

Blog Tour: Cross Stroke (On the Edge #1) by Elizabeth Hartey

Synopsis for Cross Stroke (from Goodreads):

Tracey…

One night left my heart shattered and my reputation ruined, and now my only hope is to transfer to another university far from home. Although I’m a champion figure skater and am used to succeeding, I can’t dump the burden of distrust and intimacy I’m carrying.

But when I literally crash into the cocky captain of the hockey team, sparks fly, and the attraction is as undeniable as it is unwanted.

No way is this arrogant hottie the one to help me move past my fears. Or is he…?

Dak…

Overwhelmed with guilt and remorse, I can’t forget the tragic accident that killed my first love. To avoid ever feeling that kind of agonizing loss again, I vow to stick with one-night stands with every puck bunny who glides my way and focus on keeping my position on the hockey team.

But after I meet a feisty figure skater and am then thrown together with her as a lab partner, I find I want to melt the icy walls we’ve built around our hearts.

If we don’t strangle each other first.

Other books in the series:
book3 book4

breakdown

Series: On the Edge
Author: Elizabeth Hartey
# of Books: 4 (Cross Stroke, Book 2, Book 3, Book 4)
Book Order: Connected
Complete?: No, sequels are in the works
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Sports
Heat Rating: Hot
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: January 16, 2018 – ongoing
Source & Format: Enticing Journey Book Promotions–eARC

Add: Goodreads | Buy: Amazon / Barnes and Noble

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I love a good sports romance. I especially love the romances that have a “hate to love you” vibe to them. And throw in the “lab partner” trope and you have me sold! I was really excited to glide (see what I did there?) into Dak and Tracey’s story about learning to love again with someone you least expect.

The Plot:

I really enjoyed the start because these two just kept running into each other much to Tracey’s dismay. But near the middle of the book, the pacing just got a little weird for me. That was around the time their relationship becomes more physical and the rest of the story takes a backseat. But it definitely won me over by the end again.

The Characters:

I loved Dakota immediately. He was so adorable in his attraction to Tracey. And the whole mix up at the start was fun to read. I wish it was strung out a little further because it was entertaining to read. But I also liked his backstory and how scared he was to truly care about someone again.

Tracey I had a harder time getting a read on. She has quite the backstory, so rightfully so, she’s a bit of a mess. But I found her character to be all over the place. I’m not sure if she had maybe too much on her plate and that overwhelmed her as a character. Nevertheless, she really does have some great development though near the end so I appreciated that.

The Romance:

One of the really noteworthy things about these two was their communication. I loved how these two talked about their past and put everything out there early on. It helped cement a relationship of understanding to build their relationship on. However, I needed to see more of that emotional connection in the middle of the book. By that point, the focus shifts to their physical chemistry and I wanted to see that friendship/emotional connection grow more. There’s no denying the heated chemistry between these two but I loved those moments of reflection and discussion we saw earlier in the book.

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

I am very, very excited for Nikki’s book and seeing the rest the boys get their stories!

My Rating: 3/5

Cross Stroke 3/5 | Book 2 TBP

overall
Despite the slight thaw in the middle, this book has a unique take on a learning to love again romance. Fans of sport romances will love the chemistry between these two!

Read if You Like: sport romances, learning to love again stories
Avoid if You: dislike sexy times

similarreads


Elizabeth Hartey

As a lover of the northeast US, Elizabeth moved with her husband to the Poconos several years ago to open a Chiropractic Clinic. Four children and a menagerie of animals later, she has finally found time to fulfill her lifelong dream of writing novels. The wild ride of writing books is one of the most difficult things she’s ever done in her life. But the opportunity to get her stories out of her head and down on paper and send them out into the world is also one of the most wonderful things she’s ever done. A dreamer at heart, romance is the genre she spends most of her time writing and reading into the wee hours of the morning. And having readers fall in love with her characters as much as she does is almost as exciting as giving birth (just not as painful!) When not juggling work responsibilities and writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, hiking the beautiful hills and woods around her home, swimming, knitting, watching old classic movies and travelling. As an avid hockey fan she has to compromise with her husband—one night of hockey for her in exchange for a night of football for him.

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Add: Goodreads | Buy: Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Book Tour Organised by:

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Single Sundays: The Rebound by Winter Renshaw

Single Sundays: While this blog may be focused on reviewing book series as a whole, we can’t forget about the good ole’ standalone novel! On Sundays, I will review a novel that is considered to be a standalone novel. Here is this week’s offering:

Synopsis for The Rebound (from Goodreads):

The last time I saw Nevada Kane, I was seventeen and he was loading his things into the back of his truck, about to embark on a fourteen-hour drive to the only college that offered him a full ride to play basketball.

I told him I’d wait for him. He promised to do the same.

But life happened. I broke my promise long before he ever broke his. And not because I wanted to.

We never saw each other again …

Until ten years later when Nevada unexpectedly returned to our hometown after an abrupt retirement from his professional basketball career.

Suddenly he was everywhere, always staring through me with that brooding gaze, never returning my smiles or “hellos.”

Over the years, I’d heard that he’d changed. And that despite his multi-million dollar contracts and rampant success, life hadn’t been so kind to him.

He was a widower.

And a single father.

And rumor had it, he’d spent his last ten years trying to forget me, refusing to so much as breathe my name … hating me.

But just like a rebound, he’s back.

And I have to believe everything happens for a reason.

breakdown

SERIESous’ Top Picks: Must Read Author
Author: Winter Renshaw
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Second Chances
Heat Rating: really warm
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: January 24, 2018
Source & Format: Hidden Gem Books–eARCs

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Winter Renshaw has quickly become a must read author for me. She writes consistently entertaining romances with their great premises and awesome characters. Her books always satisfy the romantic in me.

This one sounded great as soon as I read it. I loved the idea that there was this big secret that kept these two apart for 10 years and I couldn’t wait to find out what it was.

The Concept:

The first half or so of this novel is set in the past. You get to see how Yardley and Nevada fell in love as teenagers all the way up until the point where they break up. I relished this because I often find we don’t see that “first chance” in second chance stories. Seeing their past and how they loved each other had me falling in love with them while simultaneously shedding a tear because I knew it wasn’t going to last for some reason.

Then we jump ahead to the present and we see how the effects the past has had on them. As a result, it has a great flow and a “come-full-circle” feel to it that I sometimes find missing in second chance stories.

The Plot:

There isn’t much to the plot besides these two falling in love and growing as people. It’s a very character driven story in the sense that these two have to overcome the consequences of their earlier actions. They have to become stronger individuals to see their faults and learn how to move forward. And I really enjoyed that aspect.

The Characters:

I really loved these two. I loved that they had a grounded perspective on most things but still had the optimism that their love would last or that things would get better. They are both such nice people that it was hard to watch them suffer.

I will say that they are both stubborn–one of the character flaws that they each work on as the story progresses. It was really frustrating for me as a reader to see them have this conflict between them arise when it could have been easily solved by just listening to the other. Again, that is one of the things these two work on and it does serve as a good tool to show how far their characters have progressed over the years.

The Romance:

It honestly didn’t take much for me to fall in love with these two as a couple. It’s a bit more telling than showing at the start but that didn’t stop me from seeing the love they shared. I liked that the first half of the book focused on them talking and sharing moments instead of just sexy times. You see how strong their bond is and I loved that.

I could have used a little more romance in the second half. There was just something about the pacing of the romance that didn’t match the first half. Regardless, I still loved watching their story and the anticipation of seeing whether or not they would get their happy ending!

My Rating: 4/5

overall

I devoured this story from start to finish! Winter Renshaw just writes super addicting and sweet romances and I can’t get enough!

Read if You Like: second chance romances, past and present chapters
Avoid if You: dislike contemporary romance, want erotica

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: The Fallen Isles Trilogy by Jodi Meadows

Fresh Fridays: On Friday, I review a brand new series (ie. only has one book released so far) to see if the series is worth keeping up with. Here is this week’s offering:

Fallen Isles Trilogy

Other books in the series:
book3

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Before She Ignites (from Goodreads):

Before

Mira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.

But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.

After

Then Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.

No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse.

breakdown

Series: Fallen Isles Trilogy
Author: Jodi Meadows
# of Books: 3 (Before She Ignites, book 2, book 3)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: No, Book 2, will be published in 2018
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Date: September 2017 – ongoing
Source & Format: Public Library–Hardcover

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Before She Ignites at 58% (Start of Chapter 19). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I adored Meadow’s Orphan Queen Duology so I’ve made an effort to read her other novels. I didn’t enjoy Newsoul Trilogy as much as I wanted to, but this one sounded promising. Dragons? Yes please!

What I Liked:

–The Premise–

I love a fantasy world that is rich in political turmoil and this one had it. There are so many secrets to uncover and that conspiracy angle really intrigued me. Especially when the plot is being told in pieces, with Mira’s POV alternating between the “before” and the “after”. I enjoyed trying to get the bigger picture of what was happening.

What I Didn’t Like:

–Blah Storyline–

Don’t go into this book thinking you are going to get an action packed novel with a girl who rides a dragon. Reread the synopsis again. This is the key statement you need to focus on in order to enjoy this novel:

Mira must learn to survive on her own

Because that’s really what this book is all about. It’s an extremely character driven story about Mira’s journey to realize that she is more than just a pretty face; that she actually has the power to do something. Which is inspiring unto itself…but not the story I wanted to read.

Or I guess I wouldn’t have minded if I felt like anything else was happening plot wise. And despite the little inklings of the larger conspiracy, I just wasn’t invested.

Will I Finish It?

I don’t think so. I didn’t connect with the characters, the romance wasn’t enough to keep me and the plot was lackluster to me. I’m sure bigger and better things were brewing but I just wasn’t into it.

My Rating: DNF

overall

If you like character driven stories and a slower overall plot, pick this book up. The writing is great and the diversity of the cast is definitely appealing. The promise is there, I just don’t have the patience to get invested in this series.

Read if You Like: slower stories, character driven stories
Avoid if You: dislike slow stories, want more romance, want more action

similarreads

recapbutton

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews Amazon.com Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Riffle Lists: Slow Burn Romance

Riffle is an independent book site that keeps track of what books you are reading and want to read. It’s similar to GoodReads but it keeps things simple and is super easy to use. One of my favourite features is the ability to create and share lists! It is a great way to create your own list of books that have a certain theme for your own records AND a fantastic way to discover new books through other users’ lists!


Happy Valentine’s Day!

I love (no pun intended) romance themed lists around Valentine’s Day every year. I’m a sucker for a good romance novel and I read them all the time.

This year, I was inspired by my recent Trope Thursday Feature where I looked at the slow burn romance. Normally, I want things to happen fast in my novels but the slow burn romance is the exception. There is nothing I love more than some great sexual tension between leads!

Here are some notable books with slow burn romances:

Read my reviews:

Smut | The Raven Boys | A Stardance Summer | The Wall of Winnipeg and Me | Defy the Stars | Duels & Deception | Unknown | To Win Her Heart | Idol | Play | Cross the Stars | Blackhearts | Schooled | The Mad Tatter | Lost & Found

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

The Perfect Match: Winter 2018 Edition

Winter 2018 Edition

The Perfect Match: A seasonal feature where I play matchmaker but with books! What happens when you take Book A and combine it with Book B? The answer is Book C!

I did a bit of a fail with this feature last year, forgetting to do posts for the summer and fall of 2017. But never fear! I’ve returned with some romantic reads just in time for Valentine’s Day!

This time I’ve paired up books with some of my favourite rom-com movies!

Why This Match?

All these stories feature lead heroines who are escorts who fall in love with the client. While The Arrangement definitely has a flare for the darker dramatics, whereas Pretty Woman and the Calendar Girl Series are much lighter. But all these stories have the same female empowerment vibe to them thanks to their strong heroines.

Why This Match?

Rush was a favourite from last year. Like Brokeback Mountain, it shows the relationship between two men who feel like they can’t share their true feelings for each other. Actually, Rush inspired Leveled to a certain extent but I actually read Leveled first (plus, it is a novella compared to the novel that is Rush). Regardless, it has a lot of the same themes of sexuality and societal pressures.

Why This Match?

Ok, I know I am cheating a bit with A Walk to Remember since it was a book first. BUT, the novel takes place in the 1950s whereas the movie is the 1990s so it has more “contemporary” themes. Pushing the Limits features a once popular girl who is now a bit of a social outcast falling for the school bad boy. Of course, there is more than meets the eye and these two find a deeper connection and understanding. It’s darker than the other two but features a great romance and story. Chloe from Where the Road Takes me reminded me so much of Jamie from A Walk to Remember. They are both these quiet, determined girls who suddenly get noticed by someone from the “in-crowd” and try their best to not fall in love.


Agree or Disagree with my picks?

Feel free to suggest some of your own in the comments below!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Movie Mondays: Fifty Shades Freed

Movie Mondays: On the occasional Monday, I will review a book series or novel that has been made into a movie. I will then answer the question that everyone asks: which is better, the movie or the book? Here is this edition’s offering:

Book: Fifty Shades Freed by E L James (2012) | Movie: Fifty Shades Freed (2018)

Which did I read/see first? the BOOK

Book Cover | Movie Poster

 

Series: Fifty Shades
Author: E L James
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Suspense
Heat Rating: Smokin’ (BDSM: High)
Point of View: First Person, Single
Source & Format: Public Library–eBook

thoughts

I really only remember the highlights of this story. By far, this was the most suspenseful of the three reads. I felt like the sexy times were toned down a bit to emphasis the development of Ana and Christian’s relationship–which was a good thing. They have a lot of issues to work out and this was the book that really brought those to the forefront.

overall

Rating: 4/5
Series Review: Full series review here!
similarreads


Were My Expectations Met?

Compared to the first movie, the first sequel, Fifty Shades Darker, really found its own. Everything was more natural and the movie was much more enjoyable. Now that might have been because I’d been comfortable with the whole idea of this series as a movie.

So my expectations were pretty high for Fifty Shades Freed. As I said above, this novel really doesn’t focus on the sex as much and that is the case with the movie as well. Instead, we get to see Ana and Christian work on their marriage and prove why they work. Unfortunately, the chemistry between Dakota and Jamie isn’t that great so it made things seem awkward but there were definitely some cute moments.

I will say that I thought this was going to be a little more suspenseful given the plot but that didn’t really happen. Maybe because I already know how everything wraps up, it didn’t have the same thrill to me.

How Close is it to the Book?

I get a lot of the plot points between Darker and Freed mixed up because I read them so close together. But all the major plot points are there and all the key moments from the novel are shown.

For the sake of time, I felt like a lot of things were downplayed and that made things seem like they were unfinished to me. I think this article by EW sums them up nicely!

Did I Like the Cast?

For this entire trilogy, Dakota has been a highlight. I think she makes a fantastic Ana and her performance is always great.

As for Jamie, he seemed to revert to his first appearance as Christian. I was really impressed with his performance in the last movie and I felt a little let down by this one. Perhaps it was the dialogue but he just seemed so stiff to me. It might also be the fact that he has to do his American accent so it sounds forced.

 

thewinneris

I was really impressed with the second movie of this movie trilogy so I had high expectations. But I felt like the plot here was stifled a little and I left wanting a little more.

Do you agree? Leave a comment below!


Synopsis for Fifty Shades Freed (from Goodreads):

When unworldly student Anastasia Steele first encountered the driven and dazzling young entrepreneur Christian Grey it sparked a sensual affair that changed both of their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and, ultimately, repelled by Christian’s singular erotic tastes, Ana demands a deeper commitment. Determined to keep her, Christian agrees.

Now, Ana and Christian have it all—love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. And Christian must overcome his compulsion to control as he wrestles with the demons of a tormented past.

Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to make Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality.

Trailer:

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Spin-off Saturdays: Sea Breeze Meets Rosemary Beach by Abbi Glines

Spin-off Saturdays: On Saturdays, I will review a series that is a spin-off series. It is recommended that you read the original series first in order to get the most out of the spin-off series. Here is this week’s offering:

Sea Breeze Meets Rosemary Beach Series is a spin-off of the Sea Breeze Series and the Rosemary Beach Series

breakdown

SERIESous’ Top Picks: Favourite Author, Most Read Author
Series:

This is a spinoff of the the Sea Breeze Series and the Rosemary Beach Series.

Author: Abbi Glines
# of Books: 2 (Like a Memory, Because of Lila)
Book Order: Connected
Complete?: Unsure
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Drama
Heat Rating: really warm
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: February 2017 – ongoing
Source & Format: Own & Public Library–eBook

warning
WARNING: If you have not finished the original Sea Breeze and/or Rosemary Beach series, this review may have spoilers!

thoughts

My Expectations?

Well, I’ve been waiting for this series since I finished the last book in the Sea Breeze Series nearly 3 years ago, before the Rosemary Beach Series was completed. You see, we got this little epilogue that features the leads of Like a Memory and I knew from those few pages that another epic series was on the way.

I didn’t expect this series to be released in 2017 but I couldn’t wait to dive in. Watching the offspring of all the couples I’ve fallen in love with over the years get their own chance at HEA? Not everyone gets that chance with their favourite series.

How Does It Compare To The Original?

It’s like the perfect hybrid between the Sea Breeze and Rosemary Beach Series. You’ve got the slower, sweet nature of the Sea Breeze stories but it has that dash of over the top drama Rosemary Beach is known for.

And everything is so intricate! These character’s all intersect each other in interesting ways and it just gets you invested in finding out what happens next.

Not to mention, entirely addicting reads: just like their predecessors.

Anything I Didn’t Like?

In particular with Like a Memory the one dramatic twist I could have done without. I feel like it just took things a little too far and it actually caused me to rate the book lower than I would have up until that point.

I also felt like these stories did a lot more telling than showing when it comes to the romance. I wanted to see why these couples wanted to be together and not just be told that they had these deeper feelings.

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

Damn, I hope everyone gets a story 😛 I’m always entertained by anything Abbi Glines reads so I’m looking forward to seeing what she comes up with next.

Series Rating: 3.5/5

Like a Memory 3.5/5 | Because of Lila 3.5/5

overall

Fans of (either) original series will love the next generation. But for those entirely new to Glines’ work will surely become invested in seeing the origins of this series.

Read if You Like: drama, contemporary, romance
Avoid if You: dislike soap opera-esque drama
similarreads

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Like a Memory (from Goodreads):

One memory.
One special summer.
The one thing Bliss had lost herself in when the fear and sickness were too much, moments never to be damaged by the harsh reality that followed… until now.

Bliss York didn’t live a normal teenage life. She didn’t go to Friday night football games, walk the halls with her friends every day, go to her prom or even walk to receive her diploma. It had all been taken from her the fall that she was fifteen years old and she was given the diagnosis no one ever wants to hear.

She had leukemia.

Seven years after spending a summer with a girl who he knew would always be his first love and the one who got away, Nate Finlay returns to Sea Breeze to help his fiancé open her new boutique clothing store. When the new employee walks in Nate is taken back seven years to the girl he thought he’d love forever. The one who never answered his calls or returned his text. The one who shut him out completely with not even a goodbye and broke his heart.

They’ve each become someone different. No longer the young teens with stars in their eyes. But does that matter when your heart still says that’s the one.

readingchallenges

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews Amazon.com Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Trope Thursdays: Slow Burn Romance [2]

Trope Thursdays: A monthly feature where I look at various reading tropes. Each month I will pick a trope and examine all aspects of it. I’ll discuss the classic features of the trope, what I love (or hate) about it and share some books that use the trope in their plots.


Round 2 of my new feature!

As I said in the description above, the idea is to look at common book tropes and dissect them each month. I’m going to pick a variety of tropes–including ones I hate–and dig a little deeper. First, I’ll define what that trope is and then list some common features. Next, I’ll pick some examples of the trope in action and why it works (or doesn’t work) for that particular story. And then finally, I’ll open the floor to you to tell me your thoughts on the trope or recommend some reads to me.

Slow Burn Romance

Definition:

A romance that develops gradually over time as the characters get to know one each other more.

Common Features:

  • Friends to Lovers
  • In Love With Client/Coworker/Partner
  • Hate to Love You
  • In Love With the Enemy
  • Teach Me to Love
  • In Love with Someone “Forbidden”

What I Love About The Slow Burn Romance Trope:

I’ve only recently come to realize that I love the slow burn romance trope. For me, one of the things I need to see the most in my romances is a deeper connection. Insta-loves don’t work for me because the connection is usually superficial or based on something “unspoken”. But slow burn romances let you see how these characters work together over time. How they compliment each other; how they slowly realize the other person is what they have been looking for all along. That’s when the looks become a little longer; and the thoughts turn into attraction; and the tension between the two leads becomes palpable.

While researching this post, I read some other bloggers’ thoughts on the slow burn trope and I think Liana @ Coffee Time Romance sums it up very nicely:

The slow burn romance means the characters can flirt with the idea of love before ever admitting they are in love. It gives them a chance to learn each other’s strengths and weaknesses. Most importantly, it gives the readers a chance to see the couple through the good days and the bad so that when the characters finally reach Happily Ever After there is no doubt that they will really have forever together.

~Liana @ Coffee Time Romance (Post: The Beauty of the Slow Burn Romance [Sep 4, 2015])

What I Dislike About The Slow Burn Romance Trope:

Sometimes I can be a little impatient when it comes to my romances. There is only so many “near-misses” a girl can take before she’s screaming at the pages for the couple to kiss!

Like I mentioned in my last Trope Thursday Posts about Fake Relationships, the problem with the slow burn usually lies in the characters or the plot itself. If the plot isn’t very strong, I usually want the romance to be of a greater focus so that something is happening in the book. But if it too is just puttering along, well, that can make for a boring read. And when it comes to the characters, I want to like them. So if I find one character is “undeserving” of another, slow burn romances can drive me nuts because I don’t see that deeper connection.

But it’s also important to note that having the characters wait a long time to establish that romantic relationship doesn’t always make a slow burn romance. You need to have those moments that show a connection happen along the way. It isn’t enough to just stick a couple of calendar days between their first meeting and that moment when they finally take the next step. You’ve got to develop it in some way.

Another time slow burn romances can fail is in a series where the romance is spread out over multiple volumes. Once the couple gets together, that tension often disappears because they get into that “honeymoon” phase of the relationship. Their relationship becomes this inevitable fact and you lose a bit of that “will they or won’t they” thrill. Either they become this perfect couple or they have to break up for the sake of the plot. It can make for a boring read in the subsequent sequels if their slow burn romance was the main focus/plot-point of their first book because what else do you have to look forward to?

Books that Use the Slow Burn Romance Trope Well:

The Marriage Bargain (Marriage to a Billionaire, #1)
I found Blackhearts to be a very character driven story–which isn’t surprising because it is an origin story of sorts. Anne and Teach are both such intriguing characters on their own but when they share a scene, the magic really happens. They just have so much in common and watching them discover that was such a treat as a reader.

Their romance follows along the lines of one that is almost forbidden due to their positions in society. So while the attraction might always be there, they really do try and fight it in order to stop their hearts from breaking.

>>Series Review: Blackhearts

 

 

Not only is this one of the longest romance novels I have ever read (the Kindle version has over 600 pages which is absolutely CRAZY!) but it also has one of the slowest burning romances I’ve ever seen.

Why? Well these two don’t start as friends and they aren’t even that attracted to each other but that’s what happens over time. You watch their relationship evolve from boss/employee to partners to friends to lovers. It’s a hard thing for these two very independent people to learn to trust someone else but over the course of the novel, they learn to do that.

>>Standalone Review: The Wall of Winnipeg and Me

 

 

I had already written this post before I started this book. But as I was listening to the audiobook, I knew I just had to include it in this list.

The slow burn of Royally Endowed takes place over the course of years. This is a case where calendar days in between works as there is a never ending list of (realistic) obstacles along the way. It toys with the “will-they-won’t-they” idea until you know something has to give. And when it does, you can’t help but exclaim in joy.

 

Others: Play |  Smut

Books that Didn’t Use the Slow Burn Romance Trope Well:


This one is more a case of a slightly misleading synopsis and the idea of sticking calendar days in the way. I went into this book thinking the romance was going to be the main focus of the story and it wasn’t. In fact, the leads don’t even meet each other until the 50% mark. And when they do, they ignite pretty quickly. So despite the great chemistry and tension that we do finally get, the romance left something to be desired for me due to its execution.

Review: Crossing Stars

 

 

OK! Before everyone gets mad at me for this one hear me out! When I read the synopsis for The Raven Boys, I thought the main plotline was a romance between Blue and Gansey (all that stuff about her true love it mentions). So imagine my surprise when there is nearly zilch in the romance department in The Raven Boys!

I know that the romances are all slow burn and grow over the next 3 volumes but I needed something early on. I found the plot to be slow so this was one of those cases where I would have appreciated something else (like a romance) to focus on to keep the plot moving.

>>Series Review: The Raven Cycle

 

Others: A Stardance Summer |  Changling


Can’t get enough slow burn romances? Be sure to check out my Valentine’s Day Post!

Riffle Lists: Slow Burn Romance (Live February 14th)

 

As this is only my second post for this feature, please let me know what you think about its structure/topics be commenting below. I am more than willing to modify it in the coming months!

Do you enjoy the Slow Burn Romance Trope? Any recommendations?

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Blog Tour: Drumline by Stacey Kestwick

Synopsis for Drumline (from Goodreads):

Traditions are important. Especially in the South.
College football. Rivalries. Tailgating. Halftime shows.
Some things just don’t change.

Until Reese Holland shows up with her long legs and no-bullshit attitude to audition for the prestigious all-male Rodner University snare line.

It doesn’t matter how much hazing she has to endure from Laird Bronson, with his narrowed green eyes and arrogant smirk. She wants that damn spot, and she’s more than good enough to earn it.
She expects there to be tension. Even friction.
But not sparks hot enough to burn the entire campus down.

breakdown

Author: Stacey Kestwick
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Heat Rating: hot
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: September 5, 2017
Source & Format: Audiobookworm Promotions–Audiobook via Audible

Add: Goodreads | Buy: AudibleAmazon / iBooks

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Last year, I read about 39 audiobooks but none of them were a straight-up romance novel. The whole idea of a romance novel as an audiobook scared me. I wasn’t sure if I could handle the sexy times being described aloud to me (even though I have no problem reading them on paper). But there are so many great novels out there and I felt like I was really limiting myself by not reading romances as audiobooks.

When I read the description for Drumline, I knew it would be the perfect book to introduce me to the world of audiobook romance reads. The premise was fun and unique and I knew there would be fantastic tension between the leads. I couldn’t wait to start it!

The Plot:

The plot for this story really surprised me in a great way. I thought most of this novel would be about Reese fighting for her spot on the team while fighting her attraction to Laird. But it has a much deeper and more heartfelt storyline than I anticipated.

It takes awhile to uncover this deeper story though. The first half of the novel focuses mostly on the tryouts for the team and the chemistry that is constantly brewing between Reese and Laird. But the second half of the novel is really where these characters shine and the great development of the romance and the characters take place.

The Characters:

I really liked Reese as a heroine. She’s determined to succeed and she has the brains to do it. I loved her independence and drive to earn her spot and never back-down. I admired that about her a lot. She’s a well rounded character.

Laird is also a great character. I wasn’t sure at first what he would be like but he really impressed me as the story progressed and we uncover more about him. He has a kind heart and he too is also very driven and determined to succeed.

All the secondary characters are fabulous as well. Eli stole my heart from the moment we met him and Smith was a great “robin” to Reese’s “batman”.

The Romance:

For the first half of the book, the connection between Reese and Laird is pretty superficial and understandably so. They don’t know each other very well given the circumstances but they have this palpable chemistry whenever they are in the same room together. It isn’t until the second half of the novel that the deeper, emotional connection starts to thrive and their relationship becomes something more than just physical.

My Audiobook Experience:

This was a fantastic choice for my first romance audiobook! The narration by Tracey Marks and Stephen Dexter was great. I loved the accents each character had; that definitely brought the setting of Alabama to life for me as well as reminding me that Reese wasn’t from there. And they definitely captured the chemistry these two had in every scene. I thought they did a great job! I mean, they made me cry which is always a good thing when it comes to performance!

My Rating: 4/5

overall
I laughed, I cried and I loved every minute of this book! It surprised me in the best way with its story and characters.

Read if You Like: new adult romance, heartwarming stories
Avoid if You: don’t like sexy times/language

similarreads

  • Matchmaker’s Playbook by Rachel Van Dyken (Wingmen Inc Series #1)
  • Spider by Ilsa Madden-Mills
  • Like a Memory by Abbi Glines (Sea Breeze Meets Rosemary Beach Series #2)

 


Stacey Kestwick

USA Today bestseller Stacy Kestwick is a Southern girl who firmly believes mornings should be outlawed. Her perfect day would include puppies, carbohydrates, and lounging on a hammock with a good book. No adulting, cleaning, or bacon allowed.

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

 

 

Tracey Marks (Narrator)

Tracy Marks has been acting onstage and onscreen since she was 12, and has been narrating audiobooks for 4 years. She lives in Chicago with her boyfriend and adorable dog, and considers herself very lucky to have an excuse to stay indoors in her toasty little booth during the cold winter months. Bringing heart, heat, vulnerability, and humor to her work, she has a passion for bringing love stories to life.

Narrator Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook

 

Stephen Dexter (Narrator)

Stephen always wanted to be an audiobook narrator. As someone who never liked the whole “reading silently” thing, and has had a lifelong penchant for performing and flair for the dramatic, it was inevitable that he would be doing this for a living. With dozens of titles to his credit, a majority of them steamy romance novels, he has had the pleasure of voicing characters from the Great Plains of Texas, the bayous of Louisiana, the streets of South Boston, the dungeons of a vampire’s castle, the deserts of Mars, and everything in between. It has been an honor to bring such amazing stories by Penny Reid (Marriage Of Inconvenience), Krista & Becca Ritchie (Hothouse Flower), Lex Martin (Shameless), Mia Sheridan (Kyland), and so many more incredibly talented authors, to life. Be sure to check him out on social media, Audible.com, ACX.com, and at www.stephendexter.com. SAG-AFTRA/AEA. Happy listening!

Narrator Links: Website | Facebook

 

Drumline Giveaway: $25 Amazon Gift Card

Open internationally!

Add: Goodreads | Buy: AudibleAmazon / iBooks

Book Tour Organised by:

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Single Sundays: Mr Darcy’s Kiss by Krista Lakes

Single Sundays: While this blog may be focused on reviewing book series as a whole, we can’t forget about the good ole’ standalone novel! On Sundays, I will review a novel that is considered to be a standalone novel. Here is this week’s offering:

Synopsis for Mr Darcy’s Kiss (from Goodreads):

Rich.
British.
Hot as hell.

Elizabeth Bennett has never appreciated any of these traits in a man. So when Mr. Darcy, billionaire British playboy and GQ’s Bachelor of the Year, meets her at a function, she’s surprised at how attracted she is to him.

That is until he puts his foot in his big, arrogant mouth.

The slap that she gave him got her thrown out of the biggest fundraiser of the year, but the mark she left on Mr. Darcy won’t leave his mind.

The second time that they meet “on accident”, he turns up the arrogance even more.

The third time, he tries flowers.

By the fourth time, he’s wearing a cup to protect himself.

Mr. Darcy is the last man in the world that Elizabeth could ever be with. However, love makes fools of us all, and the one man that she can’t stand is the one man she can’t resist.

Can Mr. Darcy’s kiss win over the heart of Elizabeth Bennett?

Join New York Times bestselling author Krista Lakes in this modern retelling of Jane Austen’s beloved “Pride and Prejudice”

breakdown

Author: Krista Lakes
Genre: Adult, Retelling, Contemporary, Romance, Drama
Heat Rating: really warm
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Date: December 26, 2017
Source & Format: Hidden Gem ARCs–eARC

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I’m a sucker for anything remotely related to Pride and Prejudice. Retellings, adaptions, inspired by, if it lists Pride and Prejudice somewhere in the synopsis, you bet I’m reading it!

I’ve read one other Krista Lakes novel and enjoyed it well enough. The love at first sight bothered me a touch but I enjoyed her writing style so I was eager to see how she would tackle this!

The Concept:

Mr. Darcy’s Kiss is the first modern full-blown retelling I’ve read (I read a lot more that are “inspired” by). It follows the original work pretty spot on in terms of events and notable scenes. There are some great modern twists along the way–ones that I thought were pretty creative and very reflective of how society works today compared to Austen’s time. Basically everything you love (and perhaps hate) about Austen’s original masterpiece is here in one way or another.

I think it goes to show the timeless nature of Austen’s work that it can be transformed nearly 200 years later and still provide fantastic entertainment.

The Plot:

Even knowing the plot and the direction the story was going, I still found myself captivated to see what would happen next. Krista Lakes does a good job of spinning the story to work as a modern retelling.

The Characters:

All the characters have the charm and charisma you expect and love (or possibly hate depending who the character is). It was just great to get lost in their lives and all the shenanigans that ensue!

The Romance:

I swooned the entire time I was reading this. When Charles and Jane first meet? Swoon! When Darcy can’t keep his eyes off of Elizabeth? Swoon. This book just made me happy the entire time I was reading it.

My Rating: 5/5

overall

It takes a lot of guts to retell one of the most classic and admired love stories and I think Krista Lakes succeeded in bringing a modern Elizabeth and Darcy to life for readers to once again enjoy!

Read if You Like: Pride and Prejudice, Modern Retellings
Avoid if You: want erotica, dislike retellings

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact