Year archives: 2018

Year’s Reads in Review – Top Picks for 2018

For me, 2018 was all about reducing my TBR lists.

Ever since I started my blog, I’ve been consistently trying to improve my reading habits by being smarter about what I pick up and when. And for me, 2018 was the year I really put all that hard work to the test. For the most part, I’d say I had a great reading year! I definitely read more books than I anticipated (according to my Goodreads Goal) but it didn’t always feel like that in the moment. I would go days without reading a book and then have a binge session where I couldn’t get enough pages in. Like last year, audiobooks played a key factor in increasing my reading numbers. And I managed to complete nearly all my 2018 reading challenges! That last part is an absolute first in all my years of blogging!

> > Check out which books I read this past year HERE!

As always, I’ve decided to compile a list of my top picks (and not so great) from the various categories that I read this past year. Most categories deal with books published only this past calendar year (2018) but there are some noted exceptions. Click on the cover to read my review of the book/series–if available! Lots of these won’t have reviews until early next year.

Without further ado:

(Books are in no particular order; click on cover for review if available)

– Novels that were first published in 2018 –

Close (Ryder Brothers, #1) Set the Night on Fire (Cottonbloom #6) Royally Yours (Royally, #4) Hothead (Irresistible Book 4) P.S. I Hate You by Winter Renshaw

– Series that were first published in 2018 –

You Promised Me Forever (Forever Yours, #1) Secret Heir (Dynasty, #1) Blood Type (Blood Type, #1)

– Standalones that were first published in 2018 –

Pretend I'm Yours

– Series that were first published in 2018 –

Sweet Black Waves The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

– Novels that were first published in 2018 –

From Twinkle, with Love American Panda

– Series that ended in 2018 –

Love Beyond Opposites by Molly E. Lee Down to You by Jayne Frost Fixed Forever by Laurelin Paige Immortal Reign (Falling Kingdoms, #6)

– A series sequel book published in 2018 –

Legendary by Stephanie Garber

– Movie Adaptions Released in 2018 –

– Novels I read in 2018 that were hyped by the community & met expectations –

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black American Panda

– Best audiobooks I listened to in 2018 (not necessarily their publication year) –

When It's Real Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1) Stalking Jack the Ripper (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #1) Man Hands (Man Hands, #1) Royally Endowed (Royally, #3)

– Favourite New Adult Series Read in 2018 –

Heartless (Amato Brothers, #1)

– Best standalones I read in 2018 –

When It's Real Rush by Shae Ross

– Favourite YA Series I read in 2018 –

The Diabolic (The Diabolic, #1) Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1)

-Favourite Young Adult Standalone Read in 2018 –

Dear Martin

– Favourite Adult Standalones read in 2018 –

The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward The Right Fit Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

– Books published in 2018 that I DNF’d –

KensFrom Here to You (Crash and Burn, #1) Gunslinger Girl Top Choice Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)

– Books I gave 2 Stars or Less to in 2018 –

Contrite by Kathy Coopmans Furyborn (Empirium, #1)

– Books that I enjoyed more than I expected! –

The Hunt (The Cage, #2) Lead (Stage Dive, #3) Priceless (Amato Brothers, #3)

Have a fabulous 2019!

Do we share any titles? Agree or Disagree?

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Serial Saturdays: Hitched by Kendall Ryan

Serial Saturdays: On the occasional Saturday, I review a serialized series (a series that is released in parts that would normally make up a whole novel) to see if the series is worth keeping up with or worth buying all its parts. Here is this week’s offering:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Hitched (from Goodreads):

Marry the girl I’ve had a crush on my whole life? Check.

Inherit a hundred-billion-dollar company? Check.

Produce an heir… Wait, what?

I have ninety days to knock up my brand-new fake wife. There’s only one problem—she hates my guts.

And in the fine print of the contract? The requirement that we produce an heir.

She can’t stand to be in the same room with me. Says she’ll never be in my bed.

But I’ve never backed down from a challenge and I’m not about to start now.

Mark my words—I’ll have her begging for me, and it won’t take ninety days.

breakdown

Series: Hitched

There is a standalone spin-off titled: The Fix-Up

Author: Kendall Ryan
# of Parts: 3
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Drama, Humour
Heat Rating: hot
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: July – August 2016
Source & Format: Own–eBook

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I adore fake relationship stories; I think it’s my favourite romance trope. And Kendall Ryan is an author I have a ton of titles marked as to-read. So I decided to make this the first of the novels I have of hers.

The Concept:

The first novella’s synopsis is slightly misleading. The whole “heir” situation is mentioned but it doesn’t become an issue until part 2. Rather the whole “should we enter a fake marriage to save the company” is the main plot line. And I mean, you can’t take the idea too seriously either because what would having a baby do to save a million-dollar company? Not much. But as I always say, let fiction be fiction and enjoy the somewhat soap-opera nature of the drama about to ensue.

The Plot:

As is usually the nature with a shorter series, things move at a quick pace and are never as elaborated on as you would like. I think it really helped that these two had a shared past of growing up together thanks to their super close families.  It just gives everything a little more credibility to the somewhat quicker timeline and makes the situation seem more likely.

That being said, this read like a soap-opera so I’m glad it was a quick read because the dramatics can be a touch too much at times.

The Characters:

I read parts 1 & 2 right after each other and part 3 many months later so I kinda forgot about how quirky these characters are. Especially Noah. I’ve never had a male character talk about his penis so much. It was a little off putting to say the least…That being said, I was really afraid Noah would be an over the top alpha male but he really has a sweet side to him that I found to be charming–penis mentions aside.

I liked Olivia a lot. She’s a very well rounded character and is definitely the right choice for this story.

The Romance:

Again, it helps that these two share a past. It’s obvious to everyone except these two that they are a perfect match and I enjoyed watching them discover that throughout the volumes (but especially Part 2). There are probably more sexy times than actual conversations between them but they do have a great chemistry together so I can see why that would be the case.

Series Rating: 3.5/5

overall

I think people who don’t like quirky characters and shorter stories will have a hard time getting into this. But if you like quick reads with a touch for the melodramatics, check this out!

Read if You Like: short series, fake relationships
Avoid if You: want more developed story and characters

similarreads

  • Caught Up in Us by Lauren Blakely (Caught Up In Love Series #1)
  • Lord Bachelor by Tammy L Bailey
  • Break by Vanessa Waltz (Billionaire Series #1)

readingchallenges

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews Amazon.com Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Burn, Rewrite or Reread Tag – 2018 Edition

tagitthurs

Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

While I essentially gave up doing my random tags over the last two years (I have so many other things to post!), I remembered doing this tag back in December 2016 as a way to wrap up my reads for the year. So this year, I thought I’d bring this back and make it an annual tradition. I always do my Year’s Reads in Review feature but this one really makes you think about things and features some books that wouldn’t necessarily make my Top Picks of the Year.

Here’s a recap of what you are supposed to do:

The Rules:

-Randomly choose 3 books.

-For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread.

-Repeat until you completed three (I do 5) rounds

To get the books for each batch, I used a random number generator to pull titles from my “Books Read in 2018” excel file. This includes any DNF’d titles and if a number repeated itself, I reran the generator until I got a fresh title.

Round 1

Double Exposition (Songs and Sonatas, #1) Exmas The Unbelievable, Inconceivable, Unforeseeable Truth About Ethan Wilder

Burn: There were definitely things I liked about Double Exposition, but it got the lowest ratings of this group so it’ll get burned.

Rewrite: The predictability of Exmas is what stopped that book from being a 5 star read for me, so I would rework it a bit so the plot wasn’t as obvious.

Reread: There is a bit of a mystery to The Unbelievable, Inconceivable, Unforeseeable Truth About Ethan Wilder— one I didn’t figure out at all. So I think it’s always interesting to reread those books that had you stumped the first time around to see if you could figure it out earlier.

Round 2

Watching You Without Merit Free to Risk (Freedom #3)

Burn: I had high expectations for Watching You as a YA thriller but it got a little lost in the romance. Plus, now that the suspense of the stalker is mute, I’m not sure if I would enjoy another read through it.

Rewrite: First, I find it crazy that I would rewrite anything by Colleen Hoover (she’s one of my all time favourite authors), but Without Merit just had a little too much going on to make it cohesive and amazing.

Reread: When I need an emotional read with strong characters, Free to Risk is a great one to pick up!

Round 3

The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight, #2) Blood Match (Blood Type, #2) Sweet Black Waves

Burn: This has more to do with the audiobook narrator than the actual book itself — I can’t stand how she does male voices in The Shadow Hour.

Rewrite: There isn’t much I would change about Blood Match except the one super obvious plot point of this novel. And maybe more sexy times?

Reread: I DEVOURED Sweet Black Waves when I read it June. I just loved the characters so much!

Round 4

Be with Me (Wait for You, #2) Gunslinger Girl Only Between Us

Burn: I had high expectations for Be With Me after reading its predecessor but this book fell flat very quickly. Immature characters, a lack of chemistry between the leads (which was crazy because it was so there in the first book when they were there for all of 5 minutes!) and just a boring plot–nothing new here! Which is probably why I DNF’d it a third of the way in.

Rewrite: I thought Gunslinger Girl was going to be something completely different than what it actually was so I would totally rework parts of the story to make it more exciting…and more Wild West.

Reread: If you want to read about characters with tragic pasts and flaws, you don’t need to look further than Only Between Us. It will cause absolute havoc on your heart.

Round 5

The Wager (The Bet, #2) Stripped Bare (Vegas Billionaire, #1) Legendary (Caraval, #2)

Burn:I DNF’dThe Wager at 14% so clearly something didn’t work for me very early on. The chemistry was off and the plot wasn’t very mature so I had no problems putting it down.

Rewrite: While I enjoyed Stripped Bare, there were some predictable twists and I wanted to see the leads talk to each other more than just jump each other’s bones all the time. So you could definitely make this story stronger with some additional scenes.

Reread: There wasn’t much I didn’t enjoy about Legendary. I thought the pacing was great and I loved Tella as a heroine!


What would you Burn, Rewrite and Reread from 2018?

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Single Sundays: While this blog may be focused on reviewing book series as a whole, we can’t forget about the good ole’ standalone novel! On Sundays, I will review a novel that is considered to be a standalone novel. Here is this week’s offering:

Synopsis for Gunslinger Girl (from Goodreads):

James Patterson presents a bold new heroine—a cross between Katniss Everdeen and Annie Oakley: Serendipity Jones, the fastest sharpshooter in tomorrow’s West.

Seventeen-year-old Serendipity “Pity” Jones inherited two things from her mother: a pair of six shooters and perfect aim. She’s been offered a life of fame and fortune in Cessation, a glittering city where lawlessness is a way of life. But the price she pays for her freedom may be too great….

In this extraordinary debut from Lyndsay Ely, the West is once again wild after a Second Civil War fractures the U.S. into a broken, dangerous land. Pity’s struggle against the dark and twisted underbelly of a corrupt city will haunt you long after the final bullet is shot.

breakdown

Author: Lyndsay Ely
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance
Heat Rating: Unsure
Point of View: Third Person, Single
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Source & Format: Public Library–eBook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Gunslinger Girl at 17% (Start of Chapter 7). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Ever since I read (and loved) Vengeance Road, I’ve been eager to read YA Westerns. I had zero luck with Walk on Earth a Stranger but there was something about Gunslinger Girl  that gave me hope it would be the one. I had great luck with Stalking Jack the Ripper, the first “James Patterson Presents” novel so I was optimistic when this one came in from the library.

What I Liked:

–The Premise of the World–

I really loved that this was set in the future but had the throwback to the Western era. I will admit that I was disappointed this wasn’t a true Western at first. But what I love about the Western genre is that we often see the grittiness of human nature. There is a reason they call it the “Wild West” after all. The character’s main drive is to survive and so we see them tested in a way we don’t often do in more modern or fantasy novels.

Add to that the dystopian elements (like breeding programs and colony communities) and I was intrigued…until nothing was really done with them.

What I Didn’t Like:

–The Lack of World Building–

Truthfully, if the synopsis didn’t highlight the fact that a Second Civil War had occurred, I would have been really confused. Like I’m not sure if I would have picked that up in the material I read.

Also, the Western aspect is such a small aspect of this story. So they all carry guns and it isn’t safe to leave town to bandits? You can transpose that from any dystopian novel without the Wild West influence. That was very disappointing and it didn’t look like it would get any stronger either as the setting shifts to a carnival aspect that I wasn’t feeling at all.

–Pity is too Blah–

I was very underwhelmed with Pity’s character. I went in thinking she was some already a badass chick but that is far from the case. Even with some of the events that happen to her, she just seemed so tame. I just couldn’t get invested in her character. Perhaps she would have had some good character development later in the novel (honestly, there is a lot you could do with her) but I didn’t want to dedicate the time to find out.

Will I Finish It?

Nope. I read some reviews (both positive and negative) and decided this book wasn’t for me. I just didn’t like the way it was progressing so I’ve decided to leave it there.

My Rating: DNF

overall

As long as you know that this is a dystopian novel and not a Western, I think you might find something to enjoy here.

Read if You Like: dystopian, slower stories
Avoid if You: want a true Western

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: Everlife by Gena Showalter

DNF December Review Blitz — Day 10: I’m sharing my thoughts on some book series that I have marked as incomplete as I have never finished the first novel in the series. Find out why these weren’t for me:


booksynopsis

Synopsis for Firstlife (from Goodreads):

Step one…you die.

ONE CHOICE. TWO REALMS. NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live — after she dies. There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, long-time enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms that will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t where the boy she’s falling for lives? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

breakdown

SERIESous’ Top Picks: Cover Love
Series: Everlife
Author: Gena Showalter
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: February 2016 – February 2018
Source & Format: Public Library–Audiobook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Firstlife (#1) at 63%. Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I really enjoyed Showalter’s last venture into YA fiction, Alice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles). It was a fast-paced series that captured my full attention (and my heart–I’m looking at you Cole <3 ) so I was really excited for her next YA series.

What I Liked:

–The Concept–

I mean how cool is this concept?! I love series that use fictional elements to highlight and explore various aspects of our society (that’s why I adore dystopian fiction). You can draw all sorts of parallels to religion and ideas about reincarnation and the afterlife. You start to question what are the differences between these different belief systems and why do they cause so much tension? I guess what I’m trying to say is that it highlights the bigger picture and makes you ask questions.

–The Time at the Asylum–

I kinda wish we spent more time at the asylum because I liked the setting for what it did to the character’s development. I always find it interesting to see what characters will do when they are pushed to the limits and that’s what the asylum does here. I enjoyed getting into Tenley’s head and it helped me to understand why she feels so torn over her decision about where to spend her Everlife.

What I Didn’t Like:

–I was SO Lost in How the World Worked–

I will admit that the audiobook version was probably a mistake because there are a lot of terms to try and remember and it’s hard to go back and re-read something you don’t understand. But I was listening to this in close succession and for at least an hour at a time and I still was lost.

Understandably, this world is complicated–but I wonder if it was too complicated? I feel like you could do without the whole “fused souls” aspect and still have Tenley as your “special lead”. (Perhaps that fused aspect has a bigger role later on?). Then you’ve got all the roles the members of the respective realms have and the different ways they lure people…I could go on and on but I’m going to stop. I’ll just say: a lot is happening and it’s slightly overwhelming.

–Tenley–

I actually really liked Tenley when we first meet her. I loved her snarky attitude and she definitely made me laugh.

I know a lot of people give Ten a hard time because she can’t make up her mind–and I get that. Her waffling back and forth drove me nuts in the middle of the book when nothing else was happening because I got tired of hearing her pros and cons about each. But I also have to cut the girl some slack because deciding where you are going to spend the rest of your days is a big decision–one you can’t really take back.

What did bother me about Ten was why she thought her friends should choose their Everlife plans based on their need to be with her. You knew the person for a couple of weeks–chill. And then one minute her convictions would be so strong and in the next, she’s giving in for a pretty face. Again, I cut her slack for this while in the asylum because that is what they intend to do (force people to make a choice via torture) but once they escape, my patience was wearing thing.

–The Romance–

This is perhaps the biggest reason why I gave up on this book. I really didn’t like the way this was developing. I didn’t see the attraction between either of them besides physical chemistry and I didn’t really want to watch that over the course of 3 books…

Will I Finish It?

Nope. I even read the synopsis for what happens in this book (ie how it ends) and I couldn’t care less. I really just don’t like the direction this was taking.

My Audiobook Experience:

As I mentioned above, perhaps the audio isn’t the best version as there are a lot of terms to keep track of. But I get the sense the even the text version creates an underdeveloped world so…but, I really enjoyed the narrator’s voice so it was an enjoyable listen even if I wasn’t feeling the story.

My Rating: DNF

Firstlife DNF | Lifeblood  N/A| Everlife N/A

overall

This was a complete miss for me!

Read if You Like: stories about reincarnation/afterlife/alternate universes
Avoid if You: need strong world building

similarreads

 

recapbutton

Have you read this? Should I return to this series? Leave a comment!

Thanks for joining me on my first (hopefully) annual DNF December Review Blitz! That’s all I have for this year!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: Disclosure by R E Hunter

DNF December Review Blitz — Day 9: I’m sharing my thoughts on some book series that I have marked as incomplete as I have never finished the first novel in the series. Find out why these weren’t for me:

book3

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Undone (from Goodreads):

Five years ago, Embry Jacobs ran…

She ran from a past that still hasn’t let her go, but her dream of becoming a lawyer is stronger than her fear of confronting that past. Embry’s sole focus is to get through law school—with the help of her best friend, Morgan—and make something of the broken girl she became. Not thinking about falling in love, being in a relationship or even entertaining the idea of romance, Embry is moving forward one day at a time.

Luke Brody is charming and sexy, and has a past of his own. He wants nothing more than to put his demons to rest and move on with his life. But, when Embry enters the picture, is he destined to repeat those same mistakes?

Blindsided by their instant attraction, neither Luke nor Embry are prepared for the feelings they’re developing. But will it all be for nothing?

Will they let their pasts destroy them, or will they risk everything to fight for their relationship when it all comes undone?

breakdown

Series: Disclosure
Author: R E Hunter
# of Books: 3 (Undone, Unbroken, Unburdened)
Book Order: Chronological (Undone & Unbroken) + Connected (Unburdened)
Complete?: No, Unburdened is slated for release
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Heat Rating: really warm
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: January 2014 – unknown
Source & Format: Own–eBook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Undone at 36%. Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Again, I’ve had the duology boxset on my Kobo for awhile and I don’t know how I came across it. But I love books with secrets and the promises of a possibly forbidden romances but I was still a little hesitant to start the book. Nevertheless, I went in with a fresh mind and hoped for the best.

What I Didn’t Like:

–Older Characters ≠ Maturity–

Because Law School requires an undergraduate degree, you get older characters in your stories. More often than not, the New Adult Stories I read have characters in their earlier years of college or just about to graduate. So it was a bit of a special treat to have a slightly older cast.

Unfortunately, this doesn’t mean they are any more mature. If I didn’t know that they were in Law School (meaning they were 24+), I would have said they were just graduating high school. Not what I really wanted.

–Luke Seemed Slimy to Me–

I didn’t even know this was a stipulation for my forbidden romances (so thanks!) but I don’t like when the heroine is lied to flat out about her “forbidden partner”. I like when my characters know what they are doing is forbidden, when they are given that choice. Or both of them are ignorant of the fact and when they learn, they have to make a decision. There are few times that there are exceptions (it all depends on the plot) but this was not one of them.

Luke just seemed slimy to me because he knows what he is doing to Embry. Knows what he is setting her up for and he still can’t “resist knowing her”…which is a problem because:

–Lack of Chemistry–

I was just not feeling the chemistry between these two. There was definitely a mutual physical attraction but there didn’t seem to be anything else to their “connection”. Actually, I thought she had better chemistry with the classmate she sits beside than with Luke…not a good thing for a romance.

Will I Finish It?

Nope. I wasn’t enjoying this at 9% but decided to skim ahead and at the 36% mark, I knew this story wasn’t for me.

Series Rating: DNF

Undone DNF | Unbroken N/A | Unburdened N/A

overall

Not even the lure of forbidden love and secrets could keep me invested.

Read if You Like: forbidden romances, school romances
Avoid if You: want a stronger romance connection
similarreads

readingchallenges

Have you read this? Should I return to this series? Leave a comment!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: By You by Kelly Harper

DNF December Review Blitz — Day 8: I’m sharing my thoughts on some book series that I have marked as incomplete as I have never finished the first novel in the series. Find out why these weren’t for me:

book4

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Ruined by You (from Goodreads):

Can one summer change your life?

Maggie Simpson has one summer left before college starts. And the last place she wants to spend it is in Green Falls, TX with her mother’s family. She was annoyed when her mother announced the change of plans at the last moment, but as she reconnects with her cousin Sarah, she realizes a summer away might be exactly what she needs.

Maggie decides to find a summer job to keep herself occupied, and to help pay for college. She is ecstatic when Scottie gives her a job at a local watering hole, The Hill Country Saloon, to find a band to headline the annual Battle of the Bands competition.

One night, Maggie meets sexy and mysterious Haden, and he agrees to help her find a band for the competition. As Maggie and Haden work side by side, secrets are unleashed that make Maggie question everything she thought she knew about Haden, and the reason for her summer in Green Falls.
Secrets, so powerful, that her life may never be the same.

breakdown

Series: By You; Maggie & Haden
Author: Kelly Harper
# of Books: 4 (Full Reading Order Here)

There are also novellas.

Book Order: Chronological (Ruined by You & Saved By You) & Connected (Finding You & Undone by You)
Complete?: There are plans for a 4th book but no release date.
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Drama
Heat Rating: unsure
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: June 2013 – ??
Source & Format: Own–eBook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Ruined by You at 30%. Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

A classic case of I dunno how I learned about this series but I bought it shortly after its release.

Or course, I didn’t get around to reading it until a few years later when I pulled it out for my #ShelfLove Challenge 2017. I had a pretty good idea of what Haden’s secret was going to be but I wasn’t sure what the purpose of the trip to Green Falls would be. So I was looking forward to uncovering those…

What I Liked:

–Battle of the Bands Premise–

I thought this was a fun situation to put the two leads in. I’m a sucker for musicians in my New Adult novels so this was right up my alley. I liked that it was a goal they had to work towards and not just a circumstance in the background (I hope that makes sense!).

What I Didn’t Like:

–Maggie’s a Little Angsty–

Ruined by You is actually one of those novels that straddles the YA-NA line but I ended up grouping it as NA because the premise is much more NA. Anyways, it has that angsty-ness that is common in YA.

Maggie is obviously upset that she has to spend her entire summer away from the place she calls home–and I get that. But I just didn’t like her attitude as a whole.

–Very Slow–

I found Ruined by You to be really slow. I was 30% of the way through and Haden and Maggie had met maybe 3 times and those were fairly brief. I also found that not much else was happening with Maggie. Honestly, I think more was happening with Sarah (who is the lead in Finding You). The band search hadn’t started; the romance wasn’t taking off like I wanted it to; and no inklings of secrets were on the horizon. I just needed a little more to stimulate my interests.

Will I Finish It?

No. I’ve read so many great NA novels with these elements that take it to that next level and this just wasn’t one of them for me.

Series Rating: DNF

overall

I think this would be a great intro to NA novel for those who like a slower story. If you have patience to big reveals, check it out!

Read if You Like: YA/NA novels, contemporary
Avoid if You: dislike quick romances
similarreads

readingchallenges

Have you read this? Should I return to this series? Leave a comment!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: Legacy by Kayla Kluver

DNF December Review Blitz — Day 7: I’m sharing my thoughts on some book series that I have marked as incomplete as I have never finished the first novel in the series. Find out why these weren’t for me:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Legacy (from Goodreads):

I noticed his eyes. They were blue, sharp and intense. Despite the youthful glows of his suntanned face, his eyes were cold and unfriendly, suggesting he had great experience in the world and was now expecting the worst.

In her seventeenth year, Princess Alera of Hytanica faces one duty: to marry the man who will be king. But her father’s choice of suitor fills her with despair.

When the palace guard captures and intruder—a boy her age with steel-blue eyes, hailing from her kingdom’s greatest enemy—Alera is alarmed…and intrigued. But she could not have guessed that their clandestine meetings would unveil the dark legacy shadowing both their lands.

In this mystical world of court conspiracies and blood magic, loyalties will be tested. Courage won’t be enough. And as the battle begins for everything Alera holds dear, love may be the downfall of a kingdom.

breakdown

Series: Legacy
Author: Cayla Kluver
# of Books: 3 (Legacy, Allegiance, Sacrifice)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical, Romance
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: First Person, Single; Alternating (Sacrifice)
Publication Dates: August 2009 – October 2012
Source & Format: Own–eBook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Legacy (Book #1) at 22% (Start of Chapter 9). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Legacy was one of first eBooks I purchased for my Kobo when I first got it. I love a good historical-fantasy novel and this one sounded like it had potential. Conspiracies; forbidden love; the opportunity for a heroine to find her own strength? I love that in my historical fantasy novels.

What I Liked:

Honestly, I didn’t find much I liked…

Oh wait! I did like her bodyguard London. He was one of the only characters with substance.

What I Didn’t Like:

–World-Building Dumped In the Prologue–

We basically get a summary of the history of the world in the prologue and then are left to our own devices (or waiting for Alera to learn more) to put together the rest. It’s not like this world is particularly complex, it’s just trying to navigate all the different terms and how they apply to Alera’s current life was difficult. I’m sure it becomes a focus later on when the actual plot starts but it was a weird shift from prologue to chapters as a result.

–Detailed and Descriptive Writing–

I don’t enjoy books that are overly descriptive. I mean, I like descriptions of lush buffets as much as the next person but only a paragraph or two please. However, with this book you get Alera’s life described to you sentence by detailed sentence. It was the most mundane things and contributed nothing to the plot.

–Slow Plot–

I’m 80% sure that the next chapter I would have read introduced our forbidden love interest and the emergence of the main plot line. But the other chapters had been so dry that I wasn’t even intrigued by the prospect.

Will I Finish It?

No, I don’t plan on it. I even read the synopsis for the next two novels and they don’t interest me at all.

Series Rating: DNF

Legacy DNF | Allegiance N/A| Sacrifice N/A

overall

For those who enjoy slower stories and detailed writing, perhaps you will enjoy it. Otherwise, I think you can find more compelling stories out there.

Read if You Like: detailed/descriptive writing
Avoid if You: want a faster plot, want a more intriguing heroine

similarreads

  • Aurelia by Anne Osterlund (Aurelia Series #1)
  • The Gathering Storm by Robyn Bridges (Katerina Trilogy #1)
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (Snow Like Ashes Series #1)
  • The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

readingchallenges 

Have you read this? Should I return to this series? Leave a comment!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

DNF December Review Blitz — Day 6: I’m sharing my thoughts on some book series that I have marked as incomplete as I have never finished the first novel in the series. Find out why these weren’t for me:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Reign of Shadows (from Goodreads):

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.

breakdown

Series: Reign of Shadows
Author: Sophie Jordan
# of Books: 2 (Reign of Shadows, Rise of Fire)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Fairy Tale Retelling, Fantasy, Romance
Heat Rating: unsure
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Dates: February 2016 – 2017
Source & Format: Public Library–Audiobook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Reign of Shadows (Book 1) at 14% (Around Chapter 5). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I’ll be frank: I’m not the biggest Sophie Jordan fan. I’ve read 3 very different series by her (Firelight, Ivy Chronicles and The Uninvited) and haven’t been overly impressed. I had actually reached the conclusion that I probably wouldn’t pick up any more books by her and move on.

So why on earth did I pick this up? Well, at first it was definitely cover lust. The colours just drew me in. But I also read a lot of reviews and my interest was ignited. While the reviews were mixed, one consistent theme is that this story varied greatly from her previous works and that the writing was of a different caliber. So I was more than willing to give it a shot.

What I Liked:

–The Perpetual Darkness–

I actually didn’t get far enough into this story to learn what the cause of this was or even what it truly was but I got the gist of it from reading the various reviews on Goodreads. While I don’t know if you would classify it as a spoiler I think it is so no mention here. If it was mentioned in the chapters I read, I definitely missed it (and that wouldn’t be the first time I’ve done that with an audiobook!).

What I Didn’t Like:

–Luna’s Innocence–

I totally get why Luna is a naive as she is, I just couldn’t handle it. She’s got a fighter’s spirit but her inability to get the logic of certain situations wasn’t flying for me.

–Fowler’s Angst–

Talk about brooding! Usually I have a soft spot for the badass-jerk but Fowler was not working for me. I think I listened to about 2 chapters of his angry narration before I realized this wasn’t going to work for me.

–The Insta-Love–

When Luna started to describe this “unknown connection” to Fowler, that sealed the deal for me. I get that there is more at play here but I just wasn’t in the mood for this sure to be quick romance.

Will I Finish It?

Nope. This wasn’t working for me and I have no interest to see what happens next.

My Audiobook Experience:

Perhaps it wasn’t fair of me to pick this up as an audiobook but I thought the change in format would give me a fresh experience. But I thought a 2+ hour car ride would get me to pay attention…yeah, so not the case. I found myself zoning out more often than not but I think that has to do more with the content than the narration.

Series Rating: DNF

overall

Look elsewhere for a review because other’s seem to really enjoy this!

Read if You Like: fairy tale retellings
Avoid if You: dislike insta-love
similarreads

Have you read this? Should I return to this series? Leave a comment!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: Words by Georgina Guthrie

DNF December Review Blitz — Day 5: I’m sharing my thoughts on some book series that I have marked as incomplete as I have never finished the first novel in the series. Find out why these weren’t for me:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for The Weight of Words (from Goodreads):

Aubrey Price is in the final months of her undergraduate degree at the University of Toronto. Bright, witty, and fiercely independent, Aubrey works part-time for the college dean and has her sights set on graduating with distinction. When she meets Dean Grant’s son, Daniel, the TA in her senior Shakespearean studies course, a shared love of the Bard’s works and an instant mutual attraction draw Aubrey and Daniel together. Unfortunately, a strict anti-fraternizing policy–made more perilous by a black mark on Daniel’s record–keeps them apart.

Against this academic backdrop, Aubrey and Daniel navigate their way through a steamy courtship, their forbidden romance aided, abetted, and sometimes thwarted by a colorful cast of friends, family, and classmates.

breakdown

Series: Words
Author: Georgina Guthrie
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)

There is a novella: #3.5 The Record of my Heart

Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Heat Rating: Unsure
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Dates: November 2013 – November 2014
Source & Format: Public Library–eBook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading The Weight of Words (Book #1) at 29% (Start of Chapter 12). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I was SUPER DUPER excited to start this series. It combined three of my favourite things: New Adult romance, Shakespeare and it’s set in Canada. Finding books set in Canada is hard and finding one set in an area I’m very familiar with is even rarer. And it integrates Shakespeare? Be still my heart!

What I Liked:

–Shakespeare–

I loved that each chapter had a quote from some work of Shakespeare and how it related to that chapter in some way or another. I also had some great reminiscing about the Shakespeare course I took in University. I mean, I didn’t have a good looking TA in the class but reading this reminded me how fun studying Shakespeare can be.

–The Setting–

While I never went to The University of Toronto (their my alma mater’s arch-rivals), I did live close to the campus when I lived in The Six. So I definitely knew some of the buildings and areas mentioned in the novel. It was really awesome to have a complete picture of the setting throughout the novel.

What I Didn’t Like:

–An Unbearably Slow Plot Line–

I was 30% into the novel and absolutely nothing of significance had happened. I mean that. These two had talked a handful of times and if you didn’t tell me they were into each other, I wouldn’t have known. Well, besides the fact that Aubrey lamented on and on about how hot Daniel was. I’m talking pages and pages of inner monologue. And that was in between moments of her hot and cold reactions towards her roommate. Snooze!

–Zero Chemistry–

It wasn’t hard to figure out that Aubrey was attracted to Daniel but I never felt the tension between them. If you are going to sell me on a forbidden romance, you have to give me the tension. I get that even if Daniel is interested, he has to play oblivious for a little while (and there are other circumstances). I love a slow burn romance but I felt zero chemistry between them. Even with their “witty” banter in the classroom I felt zero heat between them.

The first half of the novel is Aubrey’s POV and the second half is Daniel’s but I never made it that far. Perhaps having Daniel’s POV and thoughts earlier on would have helped establish that connection between them but I’m not sure.

–Aubrey is One Petty Girl–

Being inside Aubrey’s head frustrated me to no end. If she was in her first year of university, I could have forgiven her somewhat immature tendencies. But she was well into her forth year and did not impress me with her attitude or actions.

It was her actions towards her roommate that convinced me to stop reading this novel. I hated how she treated him and did so knowingly because of her infatuation with Daniel (who had showed zero interest in her BTW). Just ick!

Will I Finish It?

Nope. I read the synopsis for the next novel and noticed that this is going to be one long, dragged out romance and my interest just isn’t there.

Twilight Fanfiction?

This story started as Twilight fanfiction–something I didn’t know until I had decided to DNF the novel. It definitely has been reworked and edited and I might not have noticed. But once I realized that I saw the connections and parallels.

I’m not saying this as a negative thing about the book. I’ve read quite a few stories that have originated as fanfiction for Twilight and have enjoyed them. I just thought it was an interest fact about the series!

When to Read the Novella?

From what I researched about the novella it’s just some bonus content from Daniel’s POV from throughout the trilogy. So I think it is best to read it after you finished the entire trilogy.

Series Rating: DNF

The Weight of Words DNF | Better Deeds Than Words N/A | The Truest of Words N/A | [The Record of my Heart N/A]

overall

While there was a lot of positive attributes to this story, the characters and lack of chemistry between the leads killed this one for me. If you enjoy long romance stories that span several novels, check this out!

Read if You Like: Twilight fanfiction, slow romances, romance spanning multiple novels
Avoid if You: dislike immature characters, want more romantic tension

similarreads

  • Someone to Love by Addison Moore (Someone to Love Series #1)
  • Shame by Rachel Van Dyken (Ruin Trilogy #1)
  • After Math by Denise Grover Swank (Off the Subject Series #1)

Have you read this? Should I return to this series? Leave a comment!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact