Year archives: 2019

Series Review: Burning Glass by Kathryn Prudie

Series Review: Burning Glass by Kathryn Prudie

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Burning Glass (from Goodreads):

Sonya was born with the rare gift to feel what those around her feel—both physically and emotionally—a gift she’s kept hidden from the empire for seventeen long years. After a reckless mistake wipes out all the other girls with similar abilities, Sonya is hauled off to the palace and forced to serve the emperor as his sovereign Auraseer.

Tasked with sensing the intentions of would-be assassins, Sonya is under constant pressure to protect the emperor. But Sonya’s power is untamed and reckless, and she can’t always decipher when other people’s impulses end and her own begin. In a palace full of warring emotions and looming darkness, Sonya fears that the biggest danger to the empire may be herself.

As she struggles to wrangle her abilities, Sonya seeks refuge in her tenuous alliances with the charming-yet-volatile Emperor Valko and his idealistic younger brother, Anton, the crown prince. But when threats of revolution pit the two brothers against each other, Sonya must choose which brother to trust—and which to betray.

breakdown

Series: Burning Glass
Author: Kathryn Purdie
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Heat Rating: warm
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: March 2016 – November 2018
Source & Format: Public Library–Audiobook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I finished Book #1, Burning Glass, but will not be picking up the sequels. Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I love fantasy and dystopian novels for a lot of reasons but one of the biggest draws for me is the politics of the world. I love political intrigue and conspiracy theories and rebellions so this series seemed promising. Throw in a super cool lead heroine power and I was eager to delve into this world.

What I Liked:

–The Concept–

I absolutely adore the concept of this novel. Sonya’s ability to read people’s emotions is such a cool idea and I love that Auraseers play such an important role for the Emperor. And for the most part, I thought this aspect was really well developed (as was the world-building).

–The Audiobook Narrator–

I was super impressed with Fiona Hardingham’s reading of this book! She did a really good job of bring such a flat character (more on that below) to life.

What I Didn’t Like:

–Sonya is “Blah” As a Heroine–

I get that part of Sonya’s problem is that she hasn’t had the time to hone her powers because she arrives at the academy later in life. So I can forgive the ever evolving range of emotions she undergoes throughout the story.

What I can’t get over is her logic. She kinda flops like a fish on issues from one chapter to the next and I just didn’t understand. I vividly remember her approaching one character (“A”) about betraying another (“B”) and then two chapters later, she gets upset when “A” tries to ask her to do the same thing. Um, what?! Girl is simply dumb.

–The Romance–

Sure, there’s a love triangle of sorts but I could look past that. My biggest peeve with the romance is the lack of development. I didn’t get the attraction for any suitors in either direction. Why did they like Sonya besides her outward appearance? And vice versa. Yes, she’s susceptible to other’s emotions but I didn’t know where those feelings were coming from and that was where I struggled.

Will I Finish It?

Actually, I kinda like the way Burning Glass ended. It wrapped up things enough for me to feel good about leaving it there. So I won’t be picking up the sequels.

My Rating: DNF

Burning Glass 2/5 | Crystal Blade N/A | Frozen Reign N/A

overall

To me, there was nothing unique separating this series from other’s out there besides Sonya’s powers. But you can swap out that power for anything in the YA fantasy world and you’d likely share a similar experience.

Read if You Like: fantasy, unique character powers
Avoid if You: want something mind blowing

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Fresh Fridays: Sinful Truths by Ella Miles

Fresh Fridays: Sinful Truths by Ella Miles

Fresh Fridays: On Friday, I review a brand new series (ie. only has one book released so far) to see if the series is worth keeping up with. Here is this week’s offering:

Sinful Truths Series is a spin-off of the Truth or Lies Series

Other books planned to be in the series:
book3 book3

breakdown

SERIESous’ Top Picks: Favourite Author
Series: Sinful Truths

This is a spinoff of the Truth or Lies Series.

Author: Ella Miles
# of Books: 6 (Full Reading Order Here)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: No, Book 2 will be published in December 2019
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Dark, Romance
Heat Rating: Hot
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: November 2019 – ongoing
Source & Format: Author–eARC | Thank you Ella Miles!

warning
WARNING: If you have not finished the original series, this review may have spoilers!

thoughts

My Expectations?

Without a doubt, Truth or Lies is my favourite Ella Miles series. So I was ECSTATIC that she was planning two spin-off series focusing on characters that I would love to spend more time with. Sinful Truths is the first series to come about and I couldn’t wait to dive in.

How Does It Compare To The Original?

Compared to its predecessor, I thought this book started a little slower. There were quite a few unanswered questions at the beginning that had me a little hung-up but as things fall into place, the picture becomes clearer and captivates your attention. The stakes are just as high here and that adds some depth to the plot that I love in Ella Miles’ novels.

Anything I Didn’t Like?

Some of those unanswered questions bothered me because it made things seem a little sloppy in terms of the plot. But I should always know that Ella has something mind-blowing in store…

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

I have no idea where this series is going or how it will relate further to the original series. But this is a trip I cannot wait to take!

My Rating: 4/5

Sinful Truths 4/5 | Book 2 TBP | Book 3 TBP

overall

A promising start to a great spin-off series that will captivate new fans as well as satisfy the returning.

Read if You Like: dark romances,
Avoid if You: dislike mentions of sex crimes and the like

similarreads

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Sinful Truths (from Goodreads):

She saved me.
Pulled me from the depths of the ocean.
Siren—her name fits. She is beauty; her voice heavenly.
But unlike the mythical version, Siren didn’t lure me to my death.
She saved me.
And now, seeing her about to be sold to the highest bidder, I know it’s my turn to save her.

——

I was raised to always tell the truth, no matter what.
And it’s served me well.
Until today.
Today, I wish I could lie.
Because my truth put me here—about to be sold.
A lie could set me free.
But I always tell the truth, even when I lie.

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Movie Mondays: The Darkest Minds

Movie Mondays: The Darkest Minds

Movie Mondays: On the occasional Monday, I will review a book series or novel that has been made into a movie. I will then answer the question that everyone asks: which is better, the movie or the book? Here is this edition’s offering:

Book Cover | Movie Poster
 

Book: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (2012) | Movie: The Darkest Minds (2018)

Which did I read/see first? the BOOK

Series: The Darkest Minds Trilogy
Author: Alexandra Bracken
# of Books: 4 (Full Reading Order)

There are 3 novellas. See their reading order here.

Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Post Apocalyptic, Romance
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: December 2012 – July 2018
Source & Format: Public Library–Hardcover

thoughts

I was very excited to read The Darkest Minds because its one of those series that bloggers rave about and it seemed like my kind of story based on the synopsis. I love dystopian fiction and the premise for this story seemed like something I would no doubt enjoy.

However, it took me a very long time to get into this story. My attention would wane thanks to the somewhat overly descriptive writing and the extended exposition. The romance didn’t wow me but it didn’t annoy me either. And Ruby as a lead didn’t overly impress me though I appreciated her character evolution throughout the novel. I was drawn more to some of the side characters.

The last 100 pages or so is when things got exciting and I finished The Darkest Minds on a high note, eagerly anticipating the sequel.

overall

While it wasn’t as exciting as other first novels in some other YA dystopian novels, it laid down an intriguing foundation that I hoped would be carried out throughout the rest of the series.

Rating: 3.5/5
Series Review: Full series review here!

similarreads


Were My Expectations Met?

The Darkest Minds was one of those novels where I thought “this would be a great movie” as I read it. I found the novel to be a little dragged out and I figured the condensing that comes with a movie would create a more exciting plotline.

And that happens in a so-so kind of way. We moved from A to B quickly but along the way, I think we lost some of the charm the novel had. The romance felt rushed and superficial. And I think the side characters weren’t as strong as they were in the book.

How Close is it to the Book?

I had to look up a detailed synopsis to see if the events happened like they did since it has been so long since I read the novels. From what I can see, it’s pretty spot on…though feel free to correct me!

Did I Like the Cast?

I think Amandla Stenberg has been in every major YA adaption in the last few years…and that isn’t a bad thing. She’s a great actress! She didn’t wow me here though but I can’ tell if that is a result of a bad script or the fact that Ruby didn’t impress me in the novels either.

I think the rest of the cast looked like what I pictured. Nobody really impressed me though–perhaps that is the script’s fault?

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

Given the box office numbers, I doubt we will get a sequel. That’s a little disappointing because I think there is more visually captivating stuff to come in the sequels. But given the fact that I was bored throughout most of the movie, it probably isn’t a bad thing.

thewinneris winbook

I really thought the movie would pull out the win before I watched it but here I am corrected! I think the movie suffered from a stiff, condensed script and that didn’t bring out the best in the characters.

Do you agree? Leave a comment below!


Synopsis for The Darkest Minds (from Goodreads):
When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.

Trailer:

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Monthly Inventory: October 2019

October 2019

For me, October was all about catching-up on books I’ve put off for too long. The first half of the month was dedicated to finishing up my last remaining ARCs; while the latter half was about finishing some sequels I had started in September (or had taken out from the library forever ago). Overall, It felt like a really productive month for me and it’s been a long time since I felt that way about my reading.

Clearly, I’m still really behind on my Goodreads Challenge for the year. I looked at my Monthly Inventory for October 2018 and in it, I had mentioned that I just completed my Goodreads Challenge for 2018. Right now, I’m about 23 books behind schedule (or ~60 books missing). I really don’t have high hopes that I will complete my goal this year, but I always knew that would be a possibility when I set it. (Hence the target; it was giving me something to aim for). Obviously, I’m going to try and pack in as many novels as I can by the year’s end, but with a larger focus on sequels and my Reading Challenge titles.

On a positive note, I officially crossed the 2000 total books read mark on Goodreads this past month!

thoughts

Total for October 2019: 16 Books Read + 4 Novellas Read

DNF’d: 3

Last October: 11 Books Read + 4 Novellas Read + 4 DNFs

Standout Read (★★★★★)


I think I renewed this book about 3 times from the library before I finally found the time to read it. And I’m so glad I got around to it! This series is just getting better and better and I was totally captivated by this mystery.

Biggest Let Down (DNF)


Some mixed reviews had me going in cautiously but I was ready to give it the benefit of the doubt. But the first sign of trouble should have been when my Kindle informed me that it would take 18 hours to read an ~250 page book (something that should take me 4-5 hours). After I did some research and learned about why this author isn’t able to sell books on Amazon anymore, it was pretty easy to come to the decision to DNF this uber boring novel.

thoughts

Previously posted series reviews that got updates:

thoughts

You can always get the full details on all my challenges on my dedicated page but here is a quick update:

5 Year 5 Book Challenge: 4 books added | 20 of 25 Titles Read – On track!
Goodreads Challenge: 20 books added | 144/200 Books – 23 Books Behind
Tackling the TBR Challenge: 4 books added | 26/24 Books – Challenge completed!

View my Challenge Progress Here!

Created by Lia @ Lost in a Story

I used to do a big Goodreads Purge twice a year but I like the idea of doing a little bit at a time and had great success last year doing this on a monthly basis. The idea is to go through 5-10 books on your Goodreads TBR list chronologically and decide if they should stay or go. My 10 titles consist of 7 “new to me” titles and 3 “previously started series” titles.

This month:

A Long Goodbye (Southern Comfort, #1)
Pass

You Loved Me At My Darkest (You Loved Me, #1)
Pass

The Line Between (The Line Between, #1)
Pass

Fighting Hard (Fighting For Love, #1)
Pass

His  (Dark Romance, #1)
Keep

Never Never (Never Never, #1)
Keep

Very Bad Things (Briarcrest Academy, #1)
Keep

Renegade Red (The Light, #2)
Keep

The Fates Divide (Carve the Mark, #2)
Keep

Beyond What is Given (Flight & Glory, #3)
Keep

Pass: 4 | Keep: 6

Grand Total YTD: Pass: 22 | Keep: 48

Did I give up on any too soon? Let me know in the comments below!

Because I dedicate December to my last minute Reading Challenge reads, November will be my final “sequel” month of the year. I’m really looking forward to improving upon my previous progress and finishing up some long overdue series. I haven’t decided what series those will be–it’s up to the library availability and my mood–but I’m looking forward to returning to some great worlds!

What were your biggest reading or personal accomplishments of the past month?
Leave a comment below!

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

DNF Series Review: Insignia by S J Kincaid

DNF Series Review: Insignia by S J Kincaid

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Insignia (from Goodreads):

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid’s fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender’s Game.

The planet’s natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn’t seem like a hero. He’s a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom’s life completely changes. Suddenly, he’s someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there’s a price to pay. . .

breakdown

Series: Insignia
Author: S J Kincaid
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)

There is a novella, #1.5, Allies

Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Teen, Science Fiction, Dystopian
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: Third Person, Single
Publication Dates: July 2012 – October 2014
Source & Format: Public Library–Audiobook

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Insignia (#1) at 51% (middle of Chapter 14). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

After I read (and simply ADORED) Kincaid’s The Diabolic in the summer of 2018, I was eager to check out her other works. This was the other series my library had and they had it available in audio (which is how I read The Diabolic) so it seemed like a good sign!

The synopsis doesn’t give much away but it sounded interesting enough and so I dove in immediately after DNFing another SciFi novel that just wasn’t working for me.

What I Liked:

–The Concept–

I really loved the entire concept of this story. Society is so advanced that we don’t use humans to physically fight wars; instead, they use machines to do it remotely. When I went through my anime phase in high school, Gundam SEED was my first and favourite show and they used mechas to fight; so the concept here gave me some great nostalgia.

And the simulations the kids do for training were creative and entertaining to read about.

–Despite the War and Premise, It Had a Lighter Tone–

I find most of my YA novels have a darker tone to them lately. I think part of that goes hand in hand with me growing up and where my interests lie when it comes to book. However, I enjoyed the lighter tone this novel had. Sure, Tom’s life isn’t easy and he is being recruited to fight in a war. But there isn’t murder behind every chapter or villains who will do anything at any cost. (I hope that makes sense). It’s got a more upbeat tone to it as Tom tries to navigate his new life and undergoes most challenges a 14 year old boy does in a futuristic setting.

What I Didn’t Like:

–The Lack of an Overarching Plot–

I should clarify that there are some overarching plots in this story. You’ve got Tom’s rivalry with Medusa and breached files for example. But I just kept waiting for this “big” reveal to get the plot really started. See I was halfway through and in some ways I felt like we just kept rehashing the same things over and over. I needed a little more to the plot besides Tom navigating school.

In a lot of ways, this book reminded me of the first Divergent book where you watch Tris train and find her way in her new faction. But where that book succeeds is in the inklings letting you know that something bigger is happening and as that gets revealed, you get more invested in the story. I didn’t get that sense that that would be the case here.

–I Felt a Little Old Reading This–

I’m a firm believer that you can read any book of any genre at any age; that YA and middle grade novels are not just for the targeted marketing audience. However, I do believe that there are some books you just might not enjoy if you read them when you are not  a part of the intended audience. That’s the case here.

I firmly believe if I read this book when I was in high school (ie when it first came out), this review would be completely different (namely, I would have finished the book). But as it stands now in my life, I didn’t really care for (what is petty to me now) issues that were plaguing Tom’s life like popularity and physical appearance. I crave something a little more cerebral than that when reading.

My Audiobook Experience:

Other than the wickedly long length of the audio version (it’s like 15.5 hours!) it’s a very well done production. I thought the narrator did a great job with the story.

Will I Finish It?

I don’t think so. Perhaps the text version would be quicker for me to read but the sequel’s synopsis didn’t really interest me.

My Rating: DNF

Insignia  DNF | [Allies N/A] | Vortex N/A | Catalyst N/A

overall

Perfect for fans of books in the Teen or younger YA genres! I’ve never read the Ender’s Game but what I do know makes me think this recommendation holds true.

Read if You Like: science fiction, dystopian
Avoid if You: like older (age-wise) YA titles

similarreads

 

recapbutton

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Single Sundays: The Marriage Pact by Winter Renshaw

Single Sundays: The Marriage Pact by Winter Renshaw

Single Sundays: While this blog may be focused on reviewing book series as a whole, we can’t forget about the good ole’ standalone novel! On Sundays, I will review a novel that is considered to be a standalone novel. Here is this week’s offering:

Synopsis for The Marriage Pact (from Goodreads):

I was sixteen when I vowed I would never marry him.

We shook on it. Pinky swore. Even put it in writing and all but signed our names in blood.

It was the one and only thing we ever agreed on.

To the world, he’s Prince Julian, Duke of Montcroix, second in line to the Chamont throne. Panty-melting accent. Royal charm. Hypnotic presence. Blindingly gorgeous. Laundry list of women all over the world who would give their first born for the chance to marry him. Most eligible bachelor in the free world …

But to me, he’s nothing more than the son of my father’s best friend—the pesky blue-eyed boy who made it his mission to annoy the ever-loving hell out of me summer after summer as our families vacationed together, our parents oblivious to our mutual disdain as they joked about our “betrothal.”

He was also my first kiss.

And my first taste of heartbreak so cataclysmic it almost broke me.

I meant it with every fiber of my soul when I swore I’d never marry him.

But on the eve of my 24th birthday, His Royal Highness has the audacity to show up at my door after years of silence and make a demand will forever change the trajectory of our lives: “We have to break our pact.”

breakdown

SERIESous’ Top Picks: Must Read Author
Author: Winter Renshaw
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Second Chance
Heat Rating: warm
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: June 23, 2019
Source & Format: Hidden Gems–eARC

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I was in a bit of a reading slump (3 2-star reads in a row) when I picked up this book. I can always count on Winter Renshaw to write a story that I will devour in one sitting; one that will get me into the excitement of reading again.

Despite a “no-ARC” sign up policy, I had to sign up for this one. I’m obsessed with anything Royal (and I’ve had great success with other modern royal contemporary romances lately) so that immediately had my attention. Then add to the fact that there might be an arranged marriage or something along those lines? So there!

The Concept:

While Julian is from a fictitious kingdom, there are enough allusions to current monarchies that you understand his motivations and such. Some people may not like current popular culture references in their novels but I thought it was really fitting here. 

The Plot:

If you are looking for a lighter, quick read that isn’t plagued by copious sex scenes this is a great book for you to pick up. If you get a little hung up on logistics or want something deeper character-wise? Maybe don’t pick this up (or go in with different expectations).

One of the things that really hooked me in was the allusion to their shared past and some “event” that transpired to stop their budding romance. I liked the suspense of the mystery–I was eager to figure out what caused these two to not speak for years. And while the actual reason was something I didn’t expect at all, I’m not really sure if it is feasible. That’s why I say you should go in and leave some logic behind because it’s one of those things that the more you think about it, the less likely it seems. 

The Characters:

I liked both of our leads a lot. The depth with go to with them works for the story and keeps things light. I always appreciate dual POV in romances and that’s what we get here. I liked Julian’s POV were a little shorter and more abrupt (in some ways). It added some mystery to his character and motivations but still gave you a taste of what he was thinking/feelings.

The Romance:

I thought these two were super cute together. I loved their “hate to love you” past but I wish we got to see more of it. Some flashbacks to show those moments when things changed when they were teenagers would have gone a long way in making their relationship stronger. Things move very quickly in their second chance romance and I think seeing that past would help satisfy the somewhat skeptic in me.

My Rating: 3.5/5

overall

If you want a lighter book that you can devour in one sitting that is entertaining and charming, this is a great read.

Read if You Like: royals, lighter romances
Avoid if You: get caught up in logistics/realistic plots
similarreads

 

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Series Review: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Series Review: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Something Strange and Deadly (from Goodreads):

There’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

breakdown

Series: Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy
Author: Susan Dennard
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)

There is a prequel novella: #0.5 A Dawn Most Wicked

Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Zombies, Romance, Science Fiction
Heat Rating: cool
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: July 2012 – July 2014
Source & Format: Public Library–eBook, Audiobook (Darkness)

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Book #2) at 18%. Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I’m not sure how this series initially crossed me radar. I think the covers drew me in as did the titles. I had it marked to read for a very long time which is why I selected it for my 2017 5 Year 5 Book Challenge as an entry for 2012.

I really enjoy historical paranormal reads in the YA genre so I was hoping this series would be another to add to my list of favourites. I had read Dennard’s Truthwitch prior to picking up Something Strange and Deadly so I knew to expect a great world but perhaps one that didn’t have the best worldbuilding (ie easy to understand). But I do enjoy the flow her writing has so I was optimistic I would enjoy this one.

The Concept / The World:

For me, the world building was lacking in some ways. (Not surprising given my previous Dennard experience). I would have liked more background on why the dead are suddenly rising. Now, I’ll admit, I probably wasn’t in the best head-space when I picked up Book 1 so maybe it is explained well and I just missed it. I’ve had that happen before… -.-

However, in terms of understanding how to fight the dead and the various roles of the Spirit-Hunters, that’s explained well enough. I found the concepts that relate directly to the plot and character actions were well established and easy to follow.

Is it Steampunk?

I wouldn’t say so. It has steampunk elements but it’s more of a paranormal read. Scientific technologies do play a role but they don’t have enough of one to make me classify this as steampunk. I actually didn’t think people did until I saw the tags on Goodreads and saw people calling this steampunk. Hence my need to bring it up.

Where This Series Excels:

I really enjoyed the mystery aspect of A Darkness Strange and Deadly. Trying to figure out how everything was connected (if it even was) kept me intrigued and pushing forward. You get that suspense in the sequel as well after everything plays out and that aspect is intriguing.

Where This Series Declines:

I liked Eleanor enough but there was something that stopped me from loving her outright. She wasn’t overly impressive to me despite her good heart and her “I can do it” attitude.

I also despised the romance. It felt very forced to me in A Darkness Strange and Deadly. I seemed like it developed out of nothing and that stopped me from getting fully on board. I actually thought she had better chemistry with another character than the one she’s supposed to…never a good thing!

Why I Stopped Reading #2, A Darkness Strange and Lovely:

I think I’ve just been too far removed from this series (it’s been about a year since I read the first one) and I just can’t motivate myself to care about this story. I don’t really remember things and even the rehash doesn’t bring me to care.

Series Rating: DNF

A Darkness Strange and Deadly  3.5/5| A Darkness Strange and Lovely DNF | Strange Ever After N/A

overall

If I read this the year it came out, I probably would have adored it. It has the right materials but they just didn’t get used well enough to impress me.

Read if You Like: zombies, historical YA
Avoid if You: want a purely steampunk novel

similarreads

  • The Gathering Storm by Robin Brydes (Katerina Trilogy #1)
  • The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross (The Steampunk Chronicles #1)

readingchallengesbook

recapbutton

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Spin-off Saturdays: Rush by Shae Ross

Single Sundays: Rush by Shae Ross

Spin-off Saturdays: On Saturdays, I will review a series that is a spin-off series. It is recommended that you read the original series first in order to get the most out of the spin-off series. Here is this week’s offering:

Rush is a spin-off of the Pretty Smart Girls Series

Synopsis for Rush (from Goodreads):

Priscilla Winslow has a mouth that spits fiery sarcasm faster than I can throw a touchdown. But I’ve wanted her ever since I saw her in that Bo Peep outfit on Halloween. Yep, I’m a sheep who will follow that little hottie anywhere. There’s one problem…she hates me. Just because we ended up in jail and quite possibly ruined both our futures…

They’re changing the rules…

College Quarterback, Preston Rush is living the dream. He’s leading his team to the National Championship and days away from earning a ‘first round draft pick’ label. When he meets Little Bo Peep at a Halloween party, he thinks he’s scored big. Instead, he wakes up in a jail cell with the corseted beauty. Because of him, she’s in trouble and when he discovers her true identity, he realizes, his nightmare is just beginning.

The always shooting for perfection Priscilla Winslow can’t believe her good deed has cost her soccer career. Even though she knows it isn’t Preston’s fault, she can’t forgive him for the disaster that is her life. She just wishes her damn body would get the message. Every time she sees him, it’s all she can do not to kiss him.

When everything crashes down around him, Preston will have to decide if doing the right thing is worth losing it all.;

breakdown

Author: Shae Ross
Series: This is a spin-off of the Pretty Smart Girls Series
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Sports
Heat Rating: Toasty
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Date: May 9, 2016
Source & Format: Own–eBook

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Well, I’ll be honest and admit that the cover is what grabbed my attention. But then, when I saw the other I was really intrigued. I really enjoyed the first book in Shae Ross’ Pretty Smart Girls series so I knew that I would find this sport romance entertaining and snagged myself a copy. Little did I know that this was a spin-off of sorts–Priscilla is the sister of the lead of Book #2 in that series, Fearless.

The Concept:

Priscilla and Preston’s paths cross unexpectedly at a Halloween party off-campus in one of the more unique meet-cutes I’ve encountered.

But what I really liked about this book was that it tackled the gender inequality in sports teams at a college level. Priscilla is  soccer star in her own right but outside forces deem that as the quarterback for a number one ranked team, Preston’s resolution is more important than her own. And I liked how those external forces impacted their relationship and tested them.

The Plot:

I liked that there were quite a few layers to this plot. You’ve got the sexual tension between Preston and Priscilla that they are both fighting because they want to concentrate on their sporting careers. You’ve got the legal ramifications of their meet-cute. You’ve got the secretive reason why that event even happened in the first place. Basically: there is more to this story than two sports stars falling in love.

I will say though that the start was a little slower for me. I dunno if it was the writing style or just the way the characters interact for the first few chapters, but I was little off at the start of this book. But once I got into it a little more and saw the bigger picture, it was more enjoyable.

The Characters:

I really liked all the characters we meet, including our leads. Everyone has their own unique personality to them so that made it fun to read about.

The Romance:

Personally, I wanted  a little more “get to know you” from these two. While I saw why there were a good match on paper given their individual monologues, I didn’t see them interact that much besides unexpected kisses. I wanted to watch them get to know each other on a slightly deeper level because they are two interesting characters but I don’t know if they knew that…

concSLOW

My Rating: 4/5

overall

Perfect for fans of unique meet-cutes and sports romances!

Read if You Like: college sports, romances, original plot lines
Avoid if You: want more erotica, dislike New Adult
similarreads

readingchallenges 

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Series Review: Pretty Smart Girls by Shae Ross

Series Review: Pretty Smart Girls by Shae Ross

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Lace Up (from Goodreads):

Team Ryan
Ryan Rose and her fellow Spartans are finalists in a high-profile entrepreneurial competition. They’re competing for life-changing money and for their futures. They have a solid plan to win. All they need to do is trounce the competition: rich frat boys from an archrival university. Easy, right?

Team Jett
Jett Trebuchet’s first mistake was not realizing that Ryan and her friends were the competition. His second was expressing his unabashed confidence in his team’s ability to win. After all, everyone knows the only thing MSU does better than U of M is produce beautiful, easy women…oh, and he almost forgot to say “dumb.” And boy, does his team pay for that one.

Game On
As each side tries to game the other, something else seems to be getting in the way—attraction. Now Ryan and Jett must keep their teams from getting distracted by the opposite sex…and each other. All is not fair in love and war when it comes to winning this game.

breakdown

Series: Pretty Smart Girls

There is a standalone spin-off: Rush

Author: Shae Ross
# of Books: 2 (Lace Up, Fearless)
Book Order: Connected
Complete?: Yes? I’m not sure if there will be a book 3
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Drama, Humour
Heat Rating: Toasty
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Dates: January 2015 – August 2015
Source & Format: Author–eBook (Read It Review It); Own–Kobo (Fearless)

disclaimer
I only received a review copy of Book #1 Lace Up

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

Shae Ross offered my New Adult Group on Goodreads the opportunity to read her debut novel Lace Up around Christmas time in 2015. Way after I finished the book, I remembered seeing its sequel Fearless on NetGalley…boy, do I regret not grabbing that one when I had the chance!

The Concept:

The premise of Lace Up is what really grabbed my attention. I loved the idea that these these two teams would be competing against each other and the sparks would be flying in more than one way. And it definitely lived up to that.

I thought their attempts to sabotage were a lot of fun and funny. It made the book light-hearted yet it didn’t shy away from the more serious aspects of the characters and their lives. It was a great balance and made the book very enjoyable to read.

Fearless has a completed different vibe to it (though the playful tension between the two groups is still there). It’s more of your typical New Adult romance read though it does bring up some new themes often shied away from.

The Plot:

I thought the plot balanced very well between the competition in Lace Up (#1), the romance and the character development. It was serious when it needed to be yet it had its fun moments. I liked that there were multiple things happening. Of course you have the competition but there are other dramatic elements at play. From past relationships to family drama to current relationships: there are a lot of things to keep you interested.

Fearless was very different. It’s more of your coming of age story with a romance between two people who have an undeniable connection but can’t seem to make it work because life gets in the way. I loved some of the challenges the couple faces but I feel like they weren’t as developed as I wanted them to be and they often got overshadowed by dramatic antics that dampened the realistic, genuine vibes the story was otherwise broadcasting.

The Characters:

Everyone has great development throughout the story but Ryan and Jett especially in Lace Up. I liked how Ryan presented herself and didn’t hold back. She didn’t need a man to complete her and while I suppose she was a little “man-hating” at the start, I think given the circumstances I can cut her some slack. Jett had even better character growth I think and I really enjoyed that. While Lace Up mostly focuses on Ryan and Jett, you get enough of the other characters to make you eager to read the sequel book.

All the characters are layered here and that’s even more true in the sequel.

The Romance:

The romance happens fast in Lace Up given that the competition takes place in a week. However, I thought Jett and Ryan were a great match. They complimented each other beautifully; as do the other characters. It makes the romance all the more sweeter.

Series Rating: 4/5

Lace Up 4/5 | Fearless 3.5/5

overall

If you enjoy high antics and perfect romantic matches, this is a great series! Also, who doesn’t love pretty smart girls? They rule the world!

Read if You Like: new adult romance, dramatics
Avoid if You: don’t like over dramatics, fast romances

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Fresh Fridays: Little White Lies (Debutantes #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Fresh Fridays: Little White Lies (Debutantes #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Fresh Fridays: On Friday, I review a brand new series (ie. only has one book released so far) to see if the series is worth keeping up with. Here is this week’s offering:

Debutantes Series

Other books planned to be in the series:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Little White Lies (from Goodreads):

“I’m not saying this is Sawyer’s fault,” the prim and proper one said delicately. “But.”

Eighteen-year-old auto mechanic Sawyer Taft did not expect her estranged grandmother to show up at her apartment door and offer her a six-figure contract to participate in debutante season. And she definitely never imagined she would accept. But when she realizes that immersing herself in her grandmother’s “society” might mean discovering the answer to the biggest mystery of her life-her father’s identity-she signs on the dotted line and braces herself for a year of makeovers, big dresses, bigger egos, and a whole lot of bless your heart. The one thing she doesn’t expect to find is friendship, but as she’s drawn into a group of debutantes with scandalous, dangerous secrets of their own, Sawyer quickly discovers that her family isn’t the only mainstay of high society with skeletons in their closet. There are people in her grandmother’s glittering world who are not what they appear, and no one wants Sawyer poking her nose into the past. As she navigates the twisted relationships between her new friends and their powerful parents, Sawyer’s search for the truth about her own origins is just the beginning.

Set in the world of debutante balls, grand estates and rolling green hills, Little White Lies combines a charming setting, a classic fish-out-of-water story, and the sort of layered mystery only author Jennifer Lynn Barnes can pull off.

breakdown

Series: Debutantes
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
# of Books: 2 (Full Reading Order Here)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: No, Deadly Little Scandals, will be released November 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery
Heat Rating: cold
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Date: November 2018 – ongoing
Source & Format: Public Library–Audiobook

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I’ve had a hit (Every Other Day) and a miss (Raised by Wolves) experience with Jennifer Lynn Barnes. But the premise of Little White Lies captured my attention when I read Jen @ Jen Ryland‘s ARC review of the novel. So when I needed a new audiobook to read, this one immediately popped out and I instantly downloaded it.

What I Liked:

–The Drama–

There are a lot of layers to this story so I never had a dull moment while I was reading. Between the antics of the other debutantes and the mystery of Sawyer’s father, it was a fun, thrilling read.

–The Lack of a Romance–

While I am a romance addict, it was great to not have a story focused on a boy. Instead, the focus shifted to female friendships and family dynamics–something that often gets left behind when the romance gets the spotlight.

What I Didn’t Like:

–Certain Things Were Predictable–

It was easy for me to figure out certain aspects of the story BUT I have to say that there were some unexpected twists that took things to the next level.

My Audiobook Experience:

From the accents to the snark: I’d highly recommend the audiobook!

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

We’ve only scratched the surface so I can’t wait to see what happens next.

My Rating: 4/5

Little White Lies 4/5 | Deadly Little Scandals TBP

overall

This was just a fun, addicting read that kept me guessing and hooked from start to finish.

Read if You Like: Pretty Little Liars
Avoid if You: want more romance

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact