Series Review: Faeriewalker by Jenna Black

Series: Faeriewalker Trilogy
Author: Jenna Black
# of Books: 3 (Glimmerglass, Shadowspell, Sirensong)

There is a prequel novella, Remedial Magic, and a series follow-up novella, Girls’ Night Out

Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: Young Adult, Faeries, Magic, Paranormal, Romance
Heat Rating: getting warm


This series is one I only read because I judged the book by the cover. Sometimes when I go into the library I like to pick out a random book to read based on the cover that catches my eye. It also helps that the synopsis from Glimmerglass sounded really interesting so I grabbed it and read it once I got home.

I really enjoyed Glimmerglass. It was a darker, more mature spin on the faerie world which I liked. The plot was mysterious and had some cool aspects to it that I haven’t read in previous faerie reads. So overall I was impressed.

I also want to mention that it is obvious that Ms. Black writes adult novels because the romance scenes are a little spicier than we normal get in YA novels but there is nothing overly descriptive.

I had to wait a year for Shadowspell to come out and by that time I had forgotten most of what happened in the previous book. I didn’t really enjoy the approach to the plot in this story as much and at times I found it a little boring. I have a feeling that this might have been due to reading the first book so long ago but I also think I got a little annoyed with some of the characters.

Again, I waited a year for Sirensong and again, my memory failed me. I didn’t enjoy this book as much and I know I didn’t like the abrupt ending (and by abrupt I mean I felt like I didn’t get any closure).

I think if I had read these books in quick succession I would have enjoyed these books a lot more so I recommend that you read them all within a reasonable timespan!

I’ve never read the eNovellas and I don’t plan to but they sound interesting.


For those who like darker young adult faerie stories this is good pick for you to get but again, get them all at once!

Rating: 3/5

Similar Reads: Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston (Wondrous Strange Trilogy #1) and Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely Series #1)

Synopsis for Glimmerglass (from Goodreads):
It’s all she’s ever wanted to be, but it couldn’t be further from her grasp…

Dana Hathaway doesn’t know it yet, but she’s in big trouble. When her alcoholic mom shows up at her voice recital drunk, again, Dana decides she’s had enough and runs away to find her mysterious father in Avalon: the only place on Earth where the regular, everyday world and the captivating, magical world of Faerie intersect. But from the moment Dana sets foot in Avalon, everything goes wrong, for it turns out she isn’t just an ordinary teenage girl, she’s a Faeriewalker, a rare individual who can travel between both worlds, and the only person who can bring magic into the human world and technology into Faerie.

Dana finds herself tangled up in a cutthroat game of Fae politics. Someone’s trying to kill her, and everyone seems to want something from her, from her newfound friends and family to Ethan, the hot Fae guy Dana figures she’ll never have a chance with…until she does. Caught between two worlds, Dana isn’t sure where she’ll ever fit in and who can be trusted, not to mention if her world will ever be normal again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from SERIESous Book Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading