Series Review: Nights by A M Salinger

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

book4 book5


Synopsis for One Night (from Goodreads):

One night was all I asked for. For him to show me how good it can be. — Gabe
One night was all I promised. To give him the best time of his life. — Cam

Gabe Anderson wants nothing more than to overcome the scars of his past. Moving to a new city halfway across the world is one thing. Walking into the most exclusive gay bar in town to hook up with a perfect stranger is a whole new ball game.

Cam Sorvino doesn’t do relationships. Period. Having buried his dark childhood behind him, he lives life to the fullest and likes his sex hot, dirty, and for one night only. Though Cam’s instincts tell him that Gabe isn’t the one-night kind of guy, he can’t stop himself from approaching him. When Cam discovers the true extent of Gabe’s harrowing secrets, he makes him an offer he cannot refuse: one night of mindless pleasure to help him overcome his phobia of intimacy.

But when morning comes, will Cam be able to let go of the one man who is able to stir new feelings inside his cold, dead heart?

If you like sweet, sexy men with dark pasts and a whole lot of love to give to the ones brave enough to win their hearts, then you’ll love this first novella in the hot, contemporary romance series Nights by A.M. Salinger.


Series: Nights Series
Author: A M Salinger
# of Books: 9 (View full series order here)
Book Order: Direct Sequel & Connected
Complete?: No, Sweet Obsession is to be Published in April 2018
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, MM Romance
Heat Rating: Hot – Smokin’
Point of View: Third Person, Alternating
Publication Dates: January 2018 – ongoing
Source & Format: Xpresso Book Tours–eARCs


This is just a review of the first two novellas: #1 One Night and #2 The Escort

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I’m always on the lookout for a new MM romance series and when I saw that the Nights Series was a series of novellas, I just had to check it out!

The Concept / Reading Order:

First off, these are novellas but they are your lengthier ones (more than 50 pages). That means things move fast but as you’ll see in my review, that doesn’t mean things are left underdeveloped.

Some of the novellas are direct sequels to previously featured character while some are not. So you can read them out of order but its suggested to follow the numerical order of release to get the fullest experience. Basically it goes like this:

Couple #1: One Night (#1) + Toyko Heat (#3) + One Day (Book #9)| Couple #2: The Escort | Couple #3: Sweet Obsession (#4) + Sweet Possession (#5)

The Plot:

Book #1, One Night, has a different plot style than The Escort (Book #2). Because the characters in One Night get sequels (#3 Tokyo Heat & #9 One Day), their story focuses more on their initial meeting and the subsequent connection they form. I found there wasn’t much to the plot besides them bonding which totally works for their story.

The Escort is a standalone in the sense that it is in the only instalment featuring these leads. I found the plot here was much stronger and had more dramatics to it. But it still features complex characters and has as much sexual tension as the first novella.

The Characters:

Despite the novella length of these stories, the characters are very well developed. Part of that is thanks to the slight info-dumping we get in the first two chapters. Everything about these characters is laid out early on so you get a great sense of who they are and what their motives are.

The Romance:

All these leads have this great sexual chemistry. But more importantly, they also have this deeper connection as well. They understand each other and they support one another and you can’t ask for more in your romances.

Do note though that One Night has a slightly more erotica feel to it given the narrative/plot.

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

I’m a sucker for great sexual tension and these novellas have that! So I can’t wait to get the conclusion to Gabe and Cam’s story and meet the newest couple.


–April 5, 2018– Book #3: Tokyo Heat

I’ll be honest and say that I wanted a little more conversation than we got between these two. Yes, they have this explosive chemistry between them and that means their sex scenes (which are very well done) are passionate and sexy. I know that they are compatible sexually but on a personal level, I needed a little more. I wanted to see more of them working on their everyday issues. We do get that near the end but I wanted those conflicts fleshed out a little more at the start of the novella to reaffirm the fact that these two work so well together.

As a series though, I really love the interweaving of past and future characters. It’s cool to get mini updates on past leads and get a taste of what might be happening later on in the series with the other leads. All these characters are so rich and intriguing that I always am eager to learn what will happen next when I finish the most recent instalment.

Series Rating: 3.5/5

One Night 3/5 | The Escort 4/5 | Tokyo Heat 3/5 | Sweet Obsession TBA | Sweet Possession TBA


This series is absolutely perfect for those people looking to get into the MM romance world but don’t know where to start! The characters are well developed and the romances are heated but sweet.

Read if You Like: MM romance, novella series
Avoid if You: novellas


connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Reviews RSS Email


Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Comments 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from SERIESous Book Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading