Series Review: Ransom by Rachel Schurig

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:


Synopsis for Ransom (from Goodreads):

Daisy Harris has no reason to suspect that her day will be any different than usual. She’ll go to class, alone. She won’t speak or make eye contact. She’ll spend her entire day doing her best to go completely unnoticed. That’s what life is like for Daisy now—an endless cycle of loneliness and fear. A life lived hiding behind the walls she so faithfully maintains.

Then she sees it. A magazine, left behind in class. A simple picture—just his face. And it changes everything.

It’s been a year since she’s seen Daltrey Ransome. A year since he and his brothers left town to pursue their dreams of rock and roll superstardom. A year since he left Daisy behind—left her to watch as everything she knew crumbled around her. She’s been running from Daltrey ever since, desperate to keep her secret.

But she can’t run anymore. And now that Daltrey has found her—the girl he’s loved his entire life, the girl he’d give up everything for—he’s determined never to let her go again.


Series: Ransom
Author: Rachel Schurig
# of Books: 6 (Full Reading List Here)
Book Order: Connected
Complete?: Yes
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Rock Star
Heat Rating: warm
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Dates: April 2014 – June 2018
Source & Format: Own–eBook; Kindle Unlimited


Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I got Ransom as a freebie for my Kobo and I think if you’ve read any of my reviews before, you know why I snatched it up. I love romances involving rock stars and secrets so this was a perfect fit!

The Plot:

Ransom (book 1) was definitely a little cheesy and I didn’t totally love the leads. So watching them do these somewhat immature things without thinking about the consequences irked me a little. This book just lacked that polish to it. HOWEVER, I really liked the rest of the cast and the potential I saw there for the sequels.

I’m really glad I gave the rest of the series a shot because I truly enjoyed them. Familiarity with the characters and watching everyone grow as the band navigates success was such a treat. And watching the guys meet their match was awesome. The rest of the series has this great balance between character development and romance. It was nice to see characters connect on a deeper level than just physical attraction and not focus solely on the sexy times.

The Characters:

Truthfully, Daltrey and Daisy are the weakest links in this series for me. So once I got past their novel I really enjoyed everyone else we get to meet.

The character growth of everyone else in the series is fabulous! All the leads are flawed in one way or another but they have their own strengths as well. Watching these characters work on themselves as individuals before committing to a romance is exactly what I love to see in a romance novel and I loved those moments.

What I also enjoyed was the fact that everyone had their own unique story. A lot of rockstar romance series follow a similar pattern but each installment here always surprised me with the plot and tropes used.

The Romance:

If you want a romance series that is more sweet than sexy, this is it. That doesn’t mean you don’t have great sexual tension or heated moments though. I just mean you aren’t going to get page upon page of sexual content written out; rather you get deep conversations between the characters. So it just rounds out the romantic connection and helps you see why they match beside attraction.

Series Rating: 4/5

Ransom 3.5/5 | Release 4/5 | Redeem 4/5 | Relent 3.5/5 | Rescue 4/5 | The Ransome Brothers 4/5


Perfect for fans of rockstar romance who want all the sweet moments but not necessarily all the spicy moments. If you enjoy books with great character development and lots of tension between leads, this is worth a read!

Read if You Like: rockstar romances, new adult, sweet heat level
Avoid if You: want erotica



connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Reviews Reviews RSS Email


Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from SERIESous Book Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading