Series Review: Cinderella by K Webster

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:


Synopsis for Stroke of Midnight (from Goodreads):

Money can buy anything. And anyone.
As the head of the Constantine family, I’m used to people bowing to my will. Cruel, rigid, unyielding—I’m all those things.
When I discover the one woman who doesn’t wither under my gaze, but instead smiles right back at me, I’m intrigued. Ash Elliott needs cash, and I make her trade in crudeness and degradation for it.
I crave her tears, her moans, her submission. I pay for each one. And every time, she comes back for more.
When she challenges me with an offer of her own, I have to decide if I’m willing to give her far more than cold hard cash. But love can have deadly consequences when it comes from a Constantine. At the stroke of midnight, that choice may be lost for both of us.


Series: Cinderella Trilogy | Midnight Dynasty Series

There is a direct spin-off: Deception Duet

Author: K Webster
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: Yes
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Dark, Romance, Erotica
Heat Rating: Smokin’ (Kink: Mild | BDSM: Mild)
Point of View: First Person, Alternating
Publication Dates: October 2020 – April 2021
Source & Format: Kobo Plus–eBook


Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I stumbled upon this series when I was browsing Kobo Plus Series I could read with my trial subscription. Only when I tried to read another book (Triple Threat) that sounded a little more interesting did I discover that this series was the first in the Midnight Dynasty Universe. So, I stopped reading that book so I could start from the very beginning of this universe with this trilogy.

The Concept – Midnight Dynasty:

The Midnight Dynasty Universe is a collection of books (series and standalones) by different authors but feature the characters from a collective world. They’re intended to be read in any order because each series focuses on two characters at a time but there are chronological events and character interactions throughout the universe.

The Plot:

This series is a modern, dark retelling of Cinderella. Ash has found herself on the outs of her family now that her father has married a wealthy, prominent doctor who has 3 sons herself. In a bid to escape to college, she winds up working and catching the attention of Winston Constantine. The rest of the trilogy ties in lose adaptations of the classic fairy tale but things are a little darker and twisted.

Part of the appeal of the Midnight Dynasty Universe is that there are major families dueling to rule New York City. The Constantines are one powerful family so as soon as Ash and Winston enter their bargain, the drama ensues. It reminded me a lot of the soap operas of Dynasty or Dallas — only there is a lot more (kinky) sex and violence.

The Characters:

I liked Ash and her need for independence. She isn’t afraid to go after what she wants, whether that’s Winston or going to college. She isn’t a total damsel in distress which I can appreciate, even if she needs the help of others along the way.

Winston is like a kinkier Christian Gray to me. He comes across gruff and distant but he actually has a heart under there once you peel back those layers.

This series also lays down the foundation for the other characters that will be featured in the Midnight Dynasty Universe so it was great to start to see how deep the family feuds run and who the key players are.

The Romance:

You have to know what you are getting into with this story or you won’t enjoy it. It’s dark, twisted and sits on the edge of being taboo sometimes. It’s like Fifty Shades amped up to the next level; so if you don’t enjoy alpha leads or kinky novels, stay away!

It took me a while to warm up to Winston and Ash’s relationship. It’s bordered on the creepy for me at the start with the difference in their ages and with how strong Winston comes on. But as the series goes on, I really started to like these two together. They start to peel back each other’s layers and I can see how they would work together.

Midnight Dynasty’s Reading Order:

I had found a suggested reading order on Reddit but I jumped a few books after reading the Cinderella Trilogy based on the lead for the Beast of Bishop’s Landing. Here is the suggested order based on that post and my own readings since:

Series Rating: 3/5

Stroke of Midnight 3.5/5 | Prince Charming 3/5 | The Glass Slipper 3/5


You need to be a fan of darker contemporary romances or erotica to enjoy this. Otherwise, I would say to stay away. But fans of darker contemporary romances with plenty of steam will enjoy this first foray into the Midnight Dynasty Universe and the many other books that take place within it.

Read if You Like: alpha males, kinky/dark erotica
Avoid if You: dislike erotica, dislike age gap romances


connect Twitter GoodReads Bloglovin' Reviews RSS Email


Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from SERIESous Book Reviews

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading