DNF Series Review: Captive of a Commoner by C J Pastore

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Captive of a Commoner (from Goodreads):

Can love penetrate an abusive past and defeat unwarranted guilt?

Alicia Cesare has a lot to celebrate. A recent Parsons School of Design graduate and recipient of a fashion design award, she embarks to Europe on a quest for independence and recognition. Instead, she finds trouble and mayhem and must accept the help of ex Marine and real estate magnate, Chase Reardon, the only man she’s ever desired. Problem is he barely knew she existed. That is about to change.
Like a lit match to a firework, rash innocence ignites fierce overprotectiveness and a sizzling romance develops, but Chase is a haunted man. Scarred by an abusive past and stalked by the vengeful head of the Russian drug cartel, he struggles to follow his heart while safeguarding those he loves. When Alicia is unwittingly thrust into his web of relentless violence, Chase is determined—at any cost—to protect her from his past.
As each new sexual awakening binds her closer to him, Alicia is convinced she must help the love of her life defeat the ghosts of his past. It will prove to be an unyielding test of courage and stamina.

breakdown

Series: Captive of a Commoner
Author: C J Pastore
# of Books: 3 (Full Reading Order Here)
Book Order: Chronological
Complete?: No, Book 3 is to be released
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Drama, Erotica
Heat Rating: Hot (BDSM: mild)
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Dates: October 2016 – ongoing
Source & Format: Author–eARC | Thank you C J Pastore!

thoughts

Disclaimer: I stopped reading Captive of a Commoner (Book #1) at 18% (start of Chapter 8). Find out why below…

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

I love a good drama-filled adult erotica series. It’s a genre that gets overlooked thanks to the 50 Shades Fandom but as a reader, it’s one I enjoy thanks to the edge of danger/suspense and passionate romances it features. So when I was asked if I wanted to read Captive of a Commoner (which is geared for fans of Sylvia Day and E L James), I said yes.

What I Liked:

–Both Had Mysterious Pasts–

I like uncovering mysteries and secrets about my lead characters. Alicia has something in her past that haunts her and it’s alluded to many times–so I wanted to figure out more. But Chase takes the cake when it comes to mysterious. Thanks to the opening prologue I know his past was no cake-walk and the synopsis hints that it might have some dangerous consequences in store. It all just brings some suspense to the story.

–The Setting–

Most of this takes place in Europe so I loved visiting all these beautiful countries—even if it was only in my head!

What I Didn’t Like:

–Flash Backs to the Past–

Now this may have been a problem with my formatting on my eReader but I often had a hard time differentiating the past and present within a chapter. We kinda jump all over the place. One minute your reading about Alicia doing something in the “now” and then suddenly you flashback to some related story from her past. And that’s fine–it does add to the mystery of the characters a bit–but I just found I would get so lost in the past that when we returned to the present, I forgot completely what we were even doing there.

–Why Did Alicia Even Like Chase?–

I just wasn’t feeling the chemistry between these two. I have no idea why Alicia even liked Chase. I assumed it was based on physical attraction because I think they interacted all of 2 times prior to the start of the main plotline. I just didn’t see the draw between them besides great sex.

Will I Finish It?

No, I’ve read the synopsis for the sequel and where it is going is somewhere I have no interest in visiting.

My Rating: DNF

Captive of a Commoner DNF | Apart N/A | Book 3 N/A

overall

This just wasn’t for me. I think those who likes lots of drama and steam will enjoy this series.

Read if You Like: contemporary erotica romances, sexy times
Avoid if You: want deeper romantic connections

similarreads

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: