Tag «Author: Brittany Butler»

Single Sundays: The Lies We Tell by Brittany Butler

Single Sundays: While this blog may be focused on reviewing book series as a whole, we can’t forget about the good ole’ standalone novel! On Sundays, I will review a novel that is considered to be a standalone novel. Here is this week’s offering:

Synopsis for The Lies We Tell (from Goodreads):

Natalie Conner is a self-proclaimed liar who is used to doing what she wants. There’s only one problem: the truth always comes to light.

When issues arise in her new life, she finds herself back at square one and the web of lies she clings to are unveiling before her. With her life now revolving around the past, she has a choice to make. However, for Natalie, when her life starts to spiral out of control, a new life and a new web of lies have never sounded so good.

Natalie Conner might be a liar, but her story isn’t one she can make up.

breakdown

Author: Brittany Butler
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction
Heat Rating: Toasty
Point of View: First Person, Single
Publication Date: December 30, 2018
Source & Format: Author–eARC

thoughts

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

What I liked about the Brittany Butler’s work is that it has different take on the contemporary romance novel. It isn’t always sunshine and rainbows; rather, you get the grittiness of everyday life and the complications of genuine people.

The Plot:

For me, this is one of those novels that I didn’t really get until the end. What I mean by that is that I didn’t understand the bigger picture/the purpose of this story until I read that epilogue.

I don’t think it helped that I had completely different expectations for this novel. I went in thinking it was going to be a story laced with deception and callous motives but that was far from the truth. Instead, this story focuses on the little lies we tell ourselves to get through life and how telling them (or by omitting them) we create bigger problems for ourselves in the end.

The Characters:

I struggled with Natalie’s character at the start of the novel (she is one jaded girl and it can be hard to read such a negative headspace). She’s a little wish-washy and hard to read at times but these are the characters that have the best opportunities for growth and she certainly did. I was pleased with her evolution by the end of the story.

The Romance:

I don’t want to give much away by getting into details. The romance plays a big role in the story in the sense that it is the starting point that everything builds off of. I’ll just finish off by saying that this novel really explores that not so pretty side of love; the more realistic side that is often overlooked in other contemporary romance novels and I enjoyed divining into that aspect a lot.

concSLOW

My Rating: 3/5

overall

This novel would be perfect for fans of Emily Giffin because it has that same realistic, everyday grittiness to it as you explore the not always happy side of relationships and life.

Read if You Like: realistic fiction, adult contemporary
Avoid if You: dislike jaded heroines
similarreads

  • Love the One You’re With by Emily Giffin
  • Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares (Sisterhood Series #4)

 

connect Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase

Disclaimer | Request a Review | Contact

Series Review: Hazed & Unfazed by Brittany Butler

Series Review: Is this series worth your time? Does it get better as the novels progress? Or does it get worse? Find out below:

book4

booksynopsis

Synopsis for Hazed (from Goodreads):
When addiction and obsession are confused with love, life becomes hazed.

After Taylor Thompson receives an acceptance letter to a university an hour away, she can taste freedom. Her life is controlled by a small town and a strict father. When Taylor finds a local bar that’s hiring a waitress she applies and gets the position. However, one bartender leaves her questioning the acceptance of her new job.

Hayze Clark, the bartender that keeps customers coming back. His dark eyes pierce through your soul, drawing you near. The tattoos bellowing down his arms and the scar lining his left eyebrow keep you at a safe distance; his carefree attitude lures Taylor in. At first she’s excited for the new, perfect distractions to pull herself from misery.

The closer she gets, the more secrets are revealed, lies are told, and tears are shed. Their relationship falters and Taylor is left unsure if she’s willing to pick up the pieces of this broken guy.

breakdown

Series: Hazed & Unfazed; or Hazed Series
Author: Brittany Butler
# of Books: 4 (Hazed, Unfazed, Ruined, Damaged)
Book Order: Chronological; Companion (Ruined); Connected (Damaged)
Complete?: No, Damaged is to be released.
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Heat Rating: really warm
Point of View: First Person, Single; Alternating (Unfazed)
Publication Dates: January 2016 – ongoing
Source & Format: Author–eARC
disclaimer

thoughts

**This review is only on Hazed and Unfazed**

Why I Picked it Up / My Expectations:

What drew me to this series was the promise of a romance gone bad. While I love a happy ending as much as the next girl, I want to see more romances that explore the potentially unhealthy aspects of new romance. Especially in the New Adult genre where it always seems like the heroine can change the unchangeable hero just by “loving” him (or vice versa).

The Plot:

Hazed starts like any other NA romance but it quickly takes a darker turn; and I really liked that. It’s not darker in the sense that this romance is taboo but in the sense that it seems normal until you uncover the layers underneath. I liked how it focused on Taylor being insecure about the vitality of their relationship: was this really a good thing for her or was she just repeating the cycle she grew up up?

That made it hard to read because as the reader, you can see what it coming for Taylor a mile away but she justs succumbs to the unhealthiness of her romance again and again. It’s tough and I think if you didn’t know that that is the purpose of the story, you would scratch your head and walk away. But that is the point of the story, no matter how hard it is to read.

Unfortunately, Unfazed doesn’t carry on that momentum too much. Instead, it chooses to focus on how these two cope with dramatic events outside of their control. Which is totally fine and is entertaining to read; it just wasn’t the story I wanted to read.

The Characters:

It’s easy to feel for Taylor once you learn about her circumstances. She definitely hasn’t had it easy. She has some great development in Hazed. In Unfazed, I feel like her growth gets a little stagnant because the focus shifts more to Hayze.

Hayze is a bit of a mystery in Hazed because we only get Taylor’s POV. I know I didn’t have the most positive perception of him because I didn’t like how he acted or treated Taylor. That changes a little in Unfazed and we learn more about his past thanks to his POV being included.

The Romance:

I went into this series not expecting to like the romantic relationship we get and I kept that mentality throughout. But I liked that this story wasn’t padded with unnecessary sex scenes; that it focused on communication with each other; respect for the other person; and trying to see if they really could navigate a relationship with so many obstacles in the way.

My Expectations for the Rest of the Series:

I don’t really have an interest in reading Hayze’s story in Ruined (which is Hazed from his POV); I felt like I learned enough about his character and his motivations in Unfazed. BUT, I’m really curious to learn more about Lea’s story in Damaged. I have my own theories but I’m sure I’ll be surprised by what happens.

Series Rating: 3.5/5

Hazed 4/5 | Unfazed 3/5 | Ruined N/A | Damaged N/A

overall

I think if you don’t like reading about relationships that are unhealthy, Hazed is a tough one for you to read. But if you like the idea that love has the potential to save someone, this is probably worth your time!

Read if You Like: new adult romance, stories focused solely on romance
Avoid if You: want more spice

similarreads

Connect: Twitter GoodReads Riffle Bloglovin' Google Plus Amazon.ca Reviews RSS Email

catchphrase